Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

Internet Resources

American Memory Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Digital historical collections (photos, sounds, movies, text) from the Library of Congress.
American Studies Web
The largest directory of web-based resources in the field of American Studies. From Georgetown University.
INFOMINE: Social Sciences & Humanities
Gateway to scholarly internet resources.
Making of America: Cornell Library Some full text available Resource contains images
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to monographs and journals with 19th century imprints, as well as primary source Civil War documents.
Pew Internet and American Life Project
Research reports and news stories on the effect of the Internet in America.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Johns Hopkins University Press, 2010.

Images

NYPL Digital Gallery Resource contains images
Images from the New York Public Library collections.
Subject Liaison
Picture: DeCoster Daisy

DeCoster Daisy
Senior Assistant Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6456
ddecoster@saintpeters.edu

American Gothic