Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Art Fulltext (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Search art and design journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
ARTstor Digital Library Restricted Resource Resource contains images
The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Google Scholar Some full text available
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't been indexed in other databases.
For SPU Library Link, please go to the settings -> library links -> search & choose the Saint Peter's University Library.
note:
 
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
JURN Some full text available
A curated academic search engine indexing 4,290 free ejournals in the arts and humanities. 
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style -- Web Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.
Voice of the Shuttle (VoS): Art History
Links to scholarly internet resources, updated and maintained by faculty and students at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.
Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum: Free Texts - Internet Archive
The Guggenheim Museum's Publications Department. Online books and catalogues documenting its exhibitions and collections.

Internet Resources

AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature
Over 100,000 abstracts of articles on the conservation and preservation of art, archaeological materials and architecture.
Aesthetics On-Line
Find articles about aesthetics, philosophy of art, art theory and art criticism.
ART HISTORY RESOURCES ON THE WEB
Created by Chris Witcombe of Sweet Briar College, this site has hundreds of links to image collections, museums, galleries and journals.
Art Project Resource contains images
Explore museums from around the world and discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels. 
ArtCyclopedia Resource contains images
Search by name, title or museum for links to image sites, Web sites and online articles.
ArtDaily.org Resource contains images
First art newspaper on the web.
ArtLex - art dictionary Resource contains images
Comprised of more than 3,200 terms covering all aspects of art. Includes definitions, illustrations, quotations, and pronunciation notes.
Arts in Victorian Britain Resource contains images
Coverage includes architecture, fashion, illustrations, painting, photography and criticism.
Assignment Calculator
This very helpful site from the University of Minnesota lets you create a timeline of activities that are necessary to write a research paper and provides definitions, tutorials, research guides, and other helpful aides.
Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites
Created by librarians at the University of Maryland.
China the Beautiful - Chinese Art and Literature
Links to Chinese art and literature, including audio files, maintained by Ming L. Pei. 
DocsTeach
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history. Register to create an account. Developed by the National Archives.
Intute
Internet resources relevant to faculty, students and research staff at the university level.
Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database
This database from New York University Medical School provides interesting annotations to works of art, literature and film that relate to medicine. 
Mother of All Art and Art History Links
Developed by the School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan.
National Gallery of Art Resource contains images
Links to the collection, exhibitions, online tours, resources, programs and events. 
New York Art Resources Consortium Resource contains images
NYARC consists of the research libraries of three leading art museums in New York City: The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art. This new website highlights the collaborative activities of the consortium and promotes each library's collection through posts in the News & Collection Highlights blog. 
Pigments Through the Ages Resource contains images
History and technical details on pigments. 
Universes in Universe - Worlds of Art
Visual arts of Africa, the Americas and Asia.
Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America, 1520-1820 Resource contains images
Showing the interaction of European and indigenous culture, Vistas "offers a critical selection of color images, primary sources, and interpretive essays on colonial history and culture." Documents in Spanish, English, Nahuatl, Quiché Maya, and other languages are also part of the site. 
Voice of the Shuttle (VoS): Art (Modern and Contemporary)
Links to scholarly internet resources, updated and maintained by faculty and students at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Museums

British Museum Resource contains images
A searchable database of over 5,000 images from the British Museum. Each image has links to related items and background text. 
Brooklyn Museum of Art Resource contains images
Provides information on the collection, exhibitions and programs. 
Guggenheim Museum
Provides information on exhibitions, the collection and programs.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Resource contains images
Includes information on current exhibits, concerts and lectures. View a timeline of art history and acces to 35,000 works. 
MOMA The Museum of Modern Art Resource contains images
Links to the collection, educational resources and current exhibits. 
Museums: Virtual Library Museums Pages
An online museum directory.
National Museum of Women in the Arts Resource contains images
Focuses recognition on the achievements of women artists of all periods and nationalities through exhibiting, preserving, acquiring, and researching art by women. 
National Portrait Gallery Resource contains images
The Gallery in London holds the most extensive collection of portraits in the world.
Smithsonian American Art Museum
Includes a link titled "Ask Joan of Art." 
Vatican Museums Online
Tour the museums and artwork in the Vatican. This site uses Java to display the images and can be slow but the images can also be enlarged and details magnified. 
Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art
Established in 1842, the Wadsworth Atheneum is America's oldest public art museum. Located in Hartford, Connecticut. 
Whitney Museum of American Art
Links to exhibitions, the collection, research, programs and events. 

Images

British Library Images Online Resource contains images
Thousands of images from the British Library collections. 
corbis IMAGES Resource contains images
Search a database of 500,000 photographs.
NYPL Digital Gallery Resource contains images
Images from the New York Public Library collections.
University of Washington Libraries' Digital Collections
This site features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media.
Web Gallery of Art Resource contains images
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 28.400 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available. Guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and other services are provided.
Artstor New Platform Changes
Boris Grigoriev (1886-1939): Girl with a Dog
Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu

Locate Journals
Artdaily.org - RSS Feed

Loading ...