Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. 
ArXiv.org E-print Archive

Open access to 1,067,039 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics


Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences compiled by the National Library of Medicine.
PLOS ONe
PLOS ONE (eISSN-1932-6203) is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. Includes the full-text of several hundred books, which can be read for free online. The tables of contents and abstracts of the Proceedings of the NAS are also available on the website along with the NAS News Report.
Note: Full-text of current articles is available for a fee; back issues are available for free 6 months after publication.
ProQuest Biology Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes over 415 titles, with more than 360 available in full text, to some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels.
ProQuest Science Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature in all major fields of study, including Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry and more.
Pubmed Central Some full text available
Free digital archive from the National Institute of Health featuring biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Science Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Core coverage of most areas of science and some applied science areas. Includes journals, books, technical reports, and government reports.  1984-present
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Indexes journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
note: Please speak to the Librarian on duty at the Reference Desk or e-mail reference@saintpeters.edu to obtain full-text for specific articles. ScienceDirect to cease support of Internet Explorer 8 on January 1, 2016

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.

E-books

Cancer Medicine, 5th ed Some full text available
This text is a reference source for medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, internists, surgical oncologists, and others who treat cancer patients.

Internet Resources

Aviation, Space, and Environmental Medicine Journal Some full text available
Includes some free full-text articles as published by the Aerospace Medical Association from present to 2003.
Bioethics.net
Includes Daily Bioethics News.
BiologyBrowser Some full text available
A site containing links to free resources provided by BIOSIS, including the Nomenclature Glossary for Zoology, the Zoological Record Thesaurus, and more. There are also links to other high-quality free resources in the biological sciences.
BioMed Some full text available
BioMed provides free access to peer-reviewed journals in biology and medicine. Journal titles include the Journal of Biology, the Journal of Negative Results in BioMedicine, Population Health Metri
Bioservers Some full text available
This site contains user-friendly tools to launch DNA database searches, statistical analyses, and population modeling from a centralized workspace.
Cancer Library Some full text available
A bibliographic database of over 1.3 million citations and abstracts, from the National Cancer Institute.
ClinicalTrials.gov Some full text available
A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. Gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Disability-Related Resources on the Internet Some full text available Resource contains images
From Project DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) at the University of Washington. Links to discussion lists and Web sites.
Environmental Protection Agency
Find environmental protection topics, informational and educational resources on this governmental agency website.
EurekAlert
Latest news and glossaries in science, medicine & technology fields, from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
Journal of Biological Chemistry
Publishes papers based on original research that are judged, after editorial review, to make a contribution to the understanding of the areas of biochemistry and molecular biology
Martindale's Calculators On-Line Center
Links to over 1,800 calculators: the usual scientific, math, and financial calculators, but also calculators for dates, astrology, wine, odors, car pricing, traffic, event hosting... if you need to calculate something you will find it here.
National Academies
The National Academies advise the U.S.Congress on science, engineering, and medicine. From this page you can read current National Academies news and find links to the 3,000 publications that the National Academies make available to the public.
National Science Digital Library
A digital online library for the nation's resources on science, technology, mathematics and engineering.
President's Council On Bioeithics
opics of concern for the council that advise the President on bioethical issues that may emerge in biomedical science and technology in the United States. Provides transcripts of council's meetings.
Protein Data Bank
Hosted by Rutgers University, the Protein Data Bank is a "worldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D biological macromolecular structure data."
ReefBase: A Global Information System on Coral Reefs
Includes descriptions of coral reef areas throughout the world, information about coral reef fish populations, biodiversity data, and monitoring activities around the world.
Science Central
Directory to scientific resources on the Internet.
Science.gov
An interagency directory contributed by U.S. government science organizations.
SCIRUS
A search engine that searches only screened educational and scientific sites and journal articles in Elsevier Science journals. Links will take you to the site or to the article in Science Direct.
Scitopia
A free federated search portal of the leading worldwide science and technology societies. Includes peer reviewed articles and conference proceedings, patents from the world's major patent offices and US Energy full text documents.
Strategian
A "strategic" guide to informational resources in Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and Psychology
The Virtual Library: Biosciences
Highly detailed, hierarchically organized collection of web links to biological information.
Tree of Life
"The Tree of Life provides information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their history, and characteristics. Individual Tree of Life pages are linked one to another in the form of the evolutionary tree that connects all organisms, with the pages branching off from a group's page being about subgroups."
U.S. Geological Survey
A multi-disciplinary science site that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water. This organization is dedicated to the study of landscape, natural resources, and natural hazards that threaten us.
WebElements--The Periodic Table on the WWW
"WebElements aims to be a high quality source of information on the WWW relating to the periodic table. Coverage is such that professional scientists and students at school will all find something useful.
Wildlife Conservation Society
The Mannahatta Project is a culmination of a decade of research that seeks to un-covered the original ecology of Manhattan, a few hours before Henry Hudson arrived 400 years ago.  

Journals/Magazines

Nature Weekly Restricted Resource Some full text available
A weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology

Dictionaries

AAAS Some full text available
Dictionaries and glossaries for science & technology from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Encyclopedias