Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. 
PLOS ONe
PLOS ONE (eISSN-1932-6203) is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. Includes the full-text of several hundred books, which can be read for free online. The tables of contents and abstracts of the Proceedings of the NAS are also available on the website along with the NAS News Report.
Note: Full-text of current articles is available for a fee; back issues are available for free 6 months after publication.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels.
ProQuest Science Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature in all major fields of study, including Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry and more.
Science Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Core coverage of most areas of science and some applied science areas. Includes journals, books, technical reports, and government reports.  1984-present
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Indexes journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
note: Please speak to the Librarian on duty at the Reference Desk or e-mail reference@saintpeters.edu to obtain full-text for specific articles. ScienceDirect to cease support of Internet Explorer 8 on January 1, 2016

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.

Internet Resources

Chemical Information Some full text available
National Library of Medicine web site on chemical IDs and other info on chemicals.
ClinicalTrials.gov Some full text available
A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. Gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Disability-Related Resources on the Internet Some full text available Resource contains images
From Project DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) at the University of Washington. Links to discussion lists and Web sites.
EurekAlert
Latest news and glossaries in science, medicine & technology fields, from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
General Chemistry Online
Website offering valuable tutorials, self-grading pratice questions, extensive links, and even a FAQ all geared to an introductory chemistry course.
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology
A collection of nearly 7000 terms, with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry. Also known as the "Gold Book."
Journal of Biological Chemistry
Publishes papers based on original research that are judged, after editorial review, to make a contribution to the understanding of the areas of biochemistry and molecular biology
Martindale's Calculators On-Line Center
Links to over 1,800 calculators: the usual scientific, math, and financial calculators, but also calculators for dates, astrology, wine, odors, car pricing, traffic, event hosting... if you need to calculate something you will find it here.
Material Safety Data Sheets
Find Material Safety Data Sheets and links to other safety resources.
National Academies
The National Academies advise the U.S.Congress on science, engineering, and medicine. From this page you can read current National Academies news and find links to the 3,000 publications that the National Academies make available to the public.
National Science Digital Library
A digital online library for the nation's resources on science, technology, mathematics and engineering.
Open Medicinal Chemistry Journal Some full text available
Open Access online journal, which publishes research articles and letters in all areas of medicinal chemistry and rational drug design.
Science Central
Directory to scientific resources on the Internet.
Science.gov
An interagency directory contributed by U.S. government science organizations.
SCIRUS
A search engine that searches only screened educational and scientific sites and journal articles in Elsevier Science journals. Links will take you to the site or to the article in Science Direct.
Scitopia
A free federated search portal of the leading worldwide science and technology societies. Includes peer reviewed articles and conference proceedings, patents from the world's major patent offices and US Energy full text documents.
Strategian
A "strategic" guide to informational resources in Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and Psychology
TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. 
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Seach for patents or for trademarks. Images may be included for later files. Patents are also available via SciFinder Scholar, a software program available in the O'Toole Library for searching Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and US Patents.
WebElements--The Periodic Table on the WWW
"WebElements aims to be a high quality source of information on the WWW relating to the periodic table. Coverage is such that professional scientists and students at school will all find something useful.

Journals/Magazines

Nature Weekly Restricted Resource Some full text available
A weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology

Dictionaries

AAAS Some full text available
Dictionaries and glossaries for science & technology from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
Subject Liaison
Picture: Ann Marie Ziadie

Ann Marie Ziadie
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6459
aziadie@saintpeters.edu

Locate Scholarly Journals & Periodicals