Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
JURN Some full text available
A curated academic search engine indexing 4,290 free ejournals in the arts and humanities. 
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Modern Language Association database of journal articles, books, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

Internet Resources

Ancient World Mapping Center Some full text available Resource contains images
Maps, discussions of ancient geography, and updates to the Barrington Atlas.
AWOL--The Ancient World Online Some full text available
A repository of open access materials, including an alphabetical list of open access journals in ancient studies.
Classical and Medieval History Some full text available
An annotated list of websites from the Library of Congress.
Classics Unveiled Some full text available
Outlines of Roman culture and life, Latin, and Greek and Roman myths.
Diotima: Women & Gender in the Ancient World Some full text available Resource contains images
An interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean.  This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images.
Perseus Digital Library Resource contains images
Ancient Greece & the Classical World in texts, images, maps, and links from the Department of the Classics, Tufts University.
Roman Law Resources
Information on Roman law sources and literature, the teaching of Roman law, and the persons who study Roman law.
Voice of the Shuttle (VoS): Classical Studies
Links to scholarly internet resources, updated and maintained by faculty and students at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Journals/Magazines

Bryn Mawr Classical Review Some full text available
Contemporary reviews of scholarly works (1990-present in the archive) in classical studies including archaeology.
Electronic Antiquity: Communicating the Classics Some full text available
A freely available scholarly electronic journal.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy Restricted Resource Some full text available
270 articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity.
Fifty Key Classical Authors
READY REF (1st Floor): PA 3002 .Z5 S53 2002
Subject Liaison
Picture: DeCoster Daisy

DeCoster Daisy
Senior Assistant Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6456
ddecoster@saintpeters.edu

Athena with cist and Erechtonios snake
Athena
Imperial Roman copy of a 5th century BCE Greek original.
Call# Guide for Browsing Library Stacks
Materials on 3rd Floor, O'Toole Library

DE1-100 History of the Greco-Roman world
DE1-15.5 General
DE23-31 Geography
DE46-73.2 Antiquities. Civilization. Culture. Ethnography
DF10-951 History of Greece
DF10-289 Ancient Greece (see breakdown below)
DF27-41 Geography,Travel
DF75-136 Antiquities. Civilization. Culture. Ethnography
DF207-241 History
DF207-218 General History
DF220-241 History by period
DF220-221 Bronze Age, Minoan, and Mycenaean ages
DF221.2-224 ca. 1125-500 B.C. Age of Tyrants
DF225-226 Persian wars, 499-479 B.C.
DF227-228 Athenian supremacy. Age of Pericles. 479-431 B.C.
DF229-230 Peloponnesian War, 431-404 B.C.
DF230.9-231.9 Spartan and Theban supremacies, 404-362 B.C.
DF232.5-233.8 Macedonian epoch. Age of Philip. 359-336 B.C.
DF234-234.9 Alexander the Great, 336-323 B.C.
DF235-238.9 Hellenistic period, 323-146.B.C.
DF239-241 Roman epoch, 140 B.C.-323/476 A.D.
DF251-289 Local history and description
DF501-649 Medieval Greece. Byzantine Empire, 323-1453
DF501-518 General DF520-542.4 Antiquities. Social life and customs. Ethnography
DF545-548 Military history. Political history. Empire and papacy
DF550-649 History DF550-552.8 General
DF553-599.5 Eastern Empire, 323/476-1057. Constantine the Great
DF599.8-649 1057-1453 DF610-629 1204-1261. Latin Empire
DF630-649 1261-1453. Palaeologi
DF645-649 1453. Fall of ConstantinopleHistory
DG11-999 History of Italy (see breakdown below)
DG11-365 Ancient Italy. Rome to 476
DG11-16 General
DG27-41 Geography. Description and travel
DG51-70 Local history and description
DG51-55 Regions in Italy, A-Z
DG59 Regions outside of Italy, A-Z
DG61-69 Rome (City) to 476
DG70 Other cities, towns, etc., A-Z
DG75-190 Antiquities. Civilization. Culture. Ethnography
DG201-365 History
DG201-215 General History
DG221-365 History by period
DG221-225 Pre-Roman Italy. Etruria. Etruscans
DG231-269 Kings and Republic, 753-27 B.C.
DG233-233.9 Foundations and kings, 753-510
DG235-269 Republic, 509-27
DG237-238 Subjection of Italy, 343-290
DG241-253 Conquest of Mediterranean world. 264-133
DG242-249.4 First and Second Punic Wars. Illyrian wars. 264-201
DG250-253 Wars in the East and in the West.200-133
DG253.5-269 Fall of the Republic and establishment of the Empire. 133-27
DG256-260 Period of Marius and Sulla (Pompey).111-78
DG261-267 Julius Caesar. First Triumvirate, 60
DG268-269 Second Triumvirate, 43-31
DG269.5-365 Empire, 27 B.C. - 476 A.D.
DG269.5-274.3 General
DG275-309.3 Constitutional Empire, 27 B.C. - 284 A.D.
DG310-365 284-476. Decline and fall