Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering all areas of communication and mass media studies. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Google Scholar Some full text available
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't been indexed in other databases.
For SPU Library Link, please go to the settings -> library links -> search & choose the Saint Peter's University Library.
note:
 
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Searchable full text back to the first issue (1851 until 2 years ago). The collection includes digital reproductions of text and images, providing access to every page from every available issue. 
Newspaper Source (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides selected full text articles from 146 U.S. and international newspapers. 
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.  Helpful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, ethics, and writing position papers.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to dissertations and theses, with some in full text.   Proquest’s open access dissertations and theses are also available at PQDT Open.
ProQuest Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
Exclusive access to 85 full-text newspapers plus an additional 7 U.S. military titles. Gannett newspapers span 30 states. Customers can create an online newspaper selection of national, or customized state and regional packages to meet their needs.
ProQuest Social Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, anthropology, political science and international relations.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.
Ulrich's Periodical Directory Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Directory of magazines, journals, newspapers, and other serials published worldwide.

Associations

Eastern Communication Association
The ECA was initially established in 1910 and continues as the oldest professional communication association in the United States.
International Communication Association
ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.
National Communication Association
NCA is the largest national organization dedicated to communication.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

APA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
Chicago Manual of Style -- Web Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites
Created by librarians at the University of Maryland.
DocsTeach
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history. Register to create an account. Developed by the National Archives.
GeniusRocket Resource contains images
Connects artists and advertisers to create television commercials, tutorials and online advertising campaigns.
I Want Media
Media news & resources.
Living Room Candidate Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Contains more than 400 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952.
Museum of the Moving Image Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Embracing a wide range of subjects, from nineteenth century optical toys to the latest in digital art, the Museum explores every phase of the production, promotion, and exhibition of moving images. Located in Astoria, New York.
News Designer Resource contains images
A weblog about newspaper design.
Nielsen Wire
Includes global consumer and media trends.
Televison News Archives Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. Vanderbilt University has been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.
 
Worldpress.org
Leading news and editorials from major world newspapers. 

Statistics/Data

NationMaster - Media Statistics
Presents Media statistics by country.
Polling the Nations
"Polls are an integral part of everyday life with results reported daily in the media. Survey information provides much of the basic underpinning for newspaper and magazine articles, radio and television news reports and speeches of public officials. When people read or hear these secondary sources they are getting information filtered through another's prism. Having access to the primary information provides a fresh perspective that can be found in no other place."
Communications & Mass Media Tutorial
Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu

Photograph by Julius Neubronner, 1909