Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to support religious and theological research. It includes book titles and a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. 1949-present. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
MEDLINE (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences compiled by the National Library of Medicine.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.  Helpful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, ethics, and writing position papers.
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database covering Business and Economics, Health and Medical, News and World Affairs, Science, Education, Technology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Psychology, Literature, Law, and Women's Studies.  Search all Proquest databases simultaneously.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.

Book Reviews

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.

Internet Resources

Bioethics Forum
The Hastings Center. Diverse commentary on issues of bioethics.
Bioethics Resources on the Web
National Institutes of Health.
Bioethics.net
Includes Daily Bioethics News.
Jodi Picoult
My Sister's Keeper
SCIRUS
A search engine that searches only screened educational and scientific sites and journal articles in Elsevier Science journals. Links will take you to the site or to the article in Science Direct.

Tutorials

Journals/Magazines

Journal of Medical Ethics
Should selecting saviour siblings be banned?
New York Times Magazine
Made-to-Order Savior
2013 Common Reading Selection
           
Saint Peter's University Lecture
About the Movie
Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu