Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
Book Cover

Copies of the book are available at the Circulation Desk for use in the Library.
                                                                                                 
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Gale Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to biographies, work overviews, bibliographies, themes, links to web sites, and full text articles is available.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The World's Most Comprehensive Full-Text History Reference Database.Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.  Helpful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, ethics, and writing position papers.
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database covering Business and Economics, Health and Medical, News and World Affairs, Science, Education, Technology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Psychology, Literature, Law, and Women's Studies.  Search all Proquest databases simultaneously.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
MLA handbook for writers of research papers
Print location: LB2369 .G53 2009

Essay Writing

Guide to Different Types of Essays
Produced by Gallaudet University.
Purdue OWL: Essay Writing
"The Modes of Discourse—Exposition, Description, Narration, Argumentation (EDNA)—are common paper assignments you may encounter in your writing classes."

Internet Resources

New York Times Room for Debate
"In Room for Debate, The Times invites knowledgeable outside contributors to discuss news events and other timely issues."
ProCon.org
"ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity. Our purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias. We research issues that are controversial and important, and we present them in a balanced, comprehensive, straightforward, transparent, and primarily pro-con format at no charge."

Saint Peter's University Resources

Center for Advancement in Language and Learning (CALL)
Provides tutors and supplemental academic instruction to Saint Peter’s University students. The Center offers assistance in writing and mathematics as well as certain specialty subjects. Help with study skills, reading improvement, and all phases of research paper development is also available. 
Center for English Language Acquisition and Culture (CELAC)
"Because we are a culturally and linguistically diverse community, Saint Peter’s University offers you a wide range of resources to support and promote academic success if your first or strongest language is not English."

Tutorials

Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu