Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Career Resources

100 Best Companies to Work For
Compiled by Fortune magazine.
Ability Jobs
Job opportunities for people with disabilities.
Best Places to Work in New Jersey
The Best Places to Work in New Jersey is a statewide program managed by Best Companies Groups.
Glassdoor: Best Places to Work
Chosen by the company employees.
Idealist
Idealist is the most popular online resource for the nonprofit sector, with information provided by 100,000 organizations around the world. Includes a searchable database of Jobs, Internships, Volunteer Opportunities, and Events.
indeed.com
Browse millions of jobs from thousands of job boards, newspapers, classifieds and company websites.
Monster.com
Browse jobs by categories, locations, companies, and job titles. Includes assistance with resume writing and postings.
QUINTESSENTIAL
Career resources toolkit for job-seekers. Has links to sites for resume writing and interview questions.
State of New Jersey Civil Service Commission
Includes job announcements and testing information.
U. S. News: Careers
Jobs for Social Services and STEM careers are also listed.

Databases

ABI/Inform Dateline(ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text articles from scholarly and general business periodicals. Also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. 
Google Scholar Some full text available
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't been indexed in other databases.
For SPU Library Link, please go to the settings -> library links -> search & choose the Saint Peter's University Library.
note:
 
Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information on millions of U. S. and non-U. S. companies, industries, and executives. 
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and television & radio news broadcasts. Also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
ProQuest Business Databases Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search multiple Proquest Business platforms separately or individually.  Includes: ABI/Inform, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, CBCA Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and more.
ProQuest Career and Technical Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database is the definitive source for vocational information for students and faculty. Includes over 750 titles.
Reference USA Restricted Resource
Provides detailed, current directory information and research data on U.S/ Canadian businesses, residents, households and healthcare.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. 
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Small Business Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
The databases selected for searching offer a combined 1,461,217 articles and were last updated as recently as December 13, 2013 
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

Bloomberg
Business news and market data for both domestic and international markets.
GoinsWriter.com
Author's Blog

Saint Peter's University Resources

Saint Peter's University: CEEL
The Center for Career Engagement and Experiential Learning (CEEL)
provides professional guidance and resources for lifelong career
development.

Statistics/Data

Government Information

CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the Department of Labor.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Descriptions of jobs, employment projections, and salaries from the U. S. Department of Labor.
Tax Deductible Job Search Expenses
Produced by the IRS.
2017 Common Reading Selection
             
Copies of the book are located on Reserve at the O'Toole Library's Circulation Desk. Call # BL629.G65 2015.
Jeff Goins Interview
 
Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu