Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Google Scholar Some full text available
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't been indexed in other databases.
For SPU Library Link, please go to the settings -> library links -> search & choose the Saint Peter's University Library.
note:
 
Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis.
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and television & radio news broadcasts. Also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.  Helpful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, ethics, and writing position papers.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to dissertations and theses, with some in full text.   Proquest’s open access dissertations and theses are also available at PQDT Open.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

APA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites
Created by librarians at the University of Maryland.
Cornell Death Penalty Project
Sponsored by Cornell University, this site offers links to scholarly research.
CrimeSolutions.gov
Uses rigorous research to inform practitioners and policy makers about what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services.  Supported by the National Institute of Justice.
Criminal Justice Resources
Compiled by Jon Harrison at Michigan State University.
Death Penalty Information Center
A non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment. They provide current statistics and polls, discussion papers, and links to other sites.
Famous Trials
Comprehensive coverage provided by Douglas O. Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) School of Law. Background information, transcripts, audio clips, and bibliographies are provided for 66 infamous cases. 
Oyez Project: Supreme Court Media
This site aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Supreme Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.  Search and access MP3 recordings and audio transcripts.
Proceedings of the Old Bailey London 1674 to 1834
Transcripts of over 100,000 trials held at London's Old Bailey courthouse.
Roman Law Resources
Information on Roman law sources and literature, the teaching of Roman law, and the persons who study Roman law.
USCCB - (SDWP) - Responsibility, Rehabilitation, and Restoration: A Catholic Perspective on Crime and Criminal Justice
A statement of the Catholic Bishops of the United States. Issued November 19, 2000.
Voice of the Shuttle (VOS): Legal Studies
Links to scholarly internet resources, updated and maintained by faculty and students at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Zeno's Forensic Site
Links to general forensic information and to sites for forensic medicine and forensic psychiatry and psychology. 

Tutorials

Statistics/Data

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides data from various sources arranged under the following topics: characteristics of the criminal justice systems; public attitudes toward crime and criminal justice-related topics; nature and distribution of known offenses; characteristics and distribution of persons arrested; judicial processing of defendants and persons under correctional supervision. 
Polling the Nations
"Polls are an integral part of everyday life with results reported daily in the media. Survey information provides much of the basic underpinning for newspaper and magazine articles, radio and television news reports and speeches of public officials. When people read or hear these secondary sources they are getting information filtered through another's prism. Having access to the primary information provides a fresh perspective that can be found in no other place."
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Tables and data from various sources arranged under the following topics: characteristics of the criminal justice systems; public attitudes toward crime and criminal justice-related topics; nature and distribution of known offenses; characteristics and distribution of persons arrested; judicial processing of defendants and persons under correctional supervision.

Government Information

Country Reports on Terrorism
U.S. law requires the Secretary of State to provide Congress, by April 30 of each year, a full and complete report on terrorism with regard to those countries and groups meeting criteria set forth in the legislation. 
FBI
Federal Bureau of Investigation A-Z index.
Global Legal Information Network
(GLIN) is a database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Provides resources on corrections, courts, crime preventions, statistics, drugs and crime, juvenile justice, law enforcement, research and victims. Administered by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice.

Organizations

Innocence Project
A national litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted people through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice.
National Center for the Victims of Crime Some full text availableopenURL
Leading resource and advocacy organization for crime victims and those who serve them.
LexisNexis Academic: Finding Landmark Cases
Literature Review Tutorial
Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu

Lady Justice