Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to support religious and theological research. It includes book titles and a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. 1949-present. 
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering all areas of communication and mass media studies. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information from all areas of education. Includes journal articles, books and education-related conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
An information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) contains articles and abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.1966-present. 
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.  Helpful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, ethics, and writing position papers.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to dissertations and theses, with some in full text.   Proquest’s open access dissertations and theses are also available at PQDT Open.
ProQuest Education Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full-text peer-reviewed literature on primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style -- Web Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

ESL

BBC Learning English
Provides grammar, pronunciation and vocabulary assistance.
Dave's ESL Cafe
Resources for ESL students and teachers.
Duolingo
"Offers free language instruction where users translate documents and vote on the accuracy of those translations."
English Club
Resources to learn and teach English.
EnglishPage
Free online English lessons & ESL/EFL resources.
ESL Daily English
Google app.
Goats Don’t Wear Coats: An Examination of Semantic Interference in Rhyming Assessments of Reading Readiness for English Language Learners Restricted Resource
Article co-authored by Maryellen Hamilton, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, Saint Peter's University. Bilingual Research Journal, 30:2 Summer 2006 
LearnEnglish Podcasts
This app developed by the British Council, is a series of English learning podcasts for download on Android devices with the option to stream.
Many Things.org
A website for studying English as a Second Language.
NABE Bilingual Multicultural Resource Center
The Center's website features newsletters, training modules, research syntheses, information on new language learning mobile applications and training opportunities.
TESL/TEFL/TESOL/ESL/EFL/ESOL Links
Links of Interest to Students & Teachers of English as a Second Language.
TESOL Resource Center (Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages)
"Contains lesson plans, teaching tips, activities, assessment tools, and much more."
Word Reference
Provides links to dictionaries, games, language forums and verb conjugations.

Generation 1.5

(Generation 1.5) Latino Students and the Library: A Case Study Some full text available
The Journal of Academic Librarianship, Volume 34, Issue 5, September 2008
Generation 1.5
Google Scholar search results.
Generation 1.5: Recognizing an Overlooked Population
Laura C. Masterson, Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis

Hispanic Serving Institutions

Hispanic Serving Institutions
Google Scholar search results.
Hispanic Serving Institutions: Myths and Realities Restricted Resource Some full text available
Peabody Journal of Education, Vol. 76, No.1, 2001
Hispanic-Serving Institutions Through the Eyes of Students and Administrators Some full text available
New Directions for Student Services, No. 105, Spring 2004

Inclusive Teaching Strategies

Achieving cultural competency: a case-based approach to training health professionals Restricted Resource Some full text available
by Hark, Lisa; DeLisser, Horace; Morrison, Gail. 2009. Provides the necessary tools to meet the ever-growing need for culturally competent practitioners and trainees.
Creating an empowering multicultural curriculum Restricted Resource
Sleeter, Christine E. Race, Gender & Class 7.3 Jul 31, 2000: 178. 
Culture and Nursing Care: A Pocket Guide
Print book located at the O'Toole Library.
Infusing diversity into the curriculum: What are faculty members actually doing? Restricted Resource Some full text available
Sciame-Giesecke, Susan; Roden, Dianne; Parkison, Kathy Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, Vol 2(3), Sep, 2009. pp. 156-165.
Teaching in Racially Diverse College Classrooms
Tips provided by the Derek Bok Center for Teaching and Learning at Harvard University.
Using National Newspapers in the College Classroom
The New York Times Knowledge Network's monograph for teaching newspaper usage in first-year college courses. 

Internet Resources

DocsTeach
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history. Register to create an account. Developed by the National Archives.

Relevant Subject Guides

Crossing Into America Subject Guide
Developed by Ilona MacNamara, Librarian.
Latin American and Latino Studies Subject Guide
Developed by Mark Graceffo, Librarian.
LGBTQ
Developed by Mark Graceffo, Librarian.
Multicultural Education: Links to Other Resources
Compiled by the University of Washington.
Women's Studies Subject Guide
Developed by Daisy DeCoster, Senior Assistant Librarian.

Saint Peter's University Resources

Center for English Language Acquisition and Culture (CELAC)
"Because we are a culturally and linguistically diverse community, Saint Peter’s University offers you a wide range of resources to support and promote academic success if your first or strongest language is not English."
Center for Global Learning
"The Center for Global Learning organizes and manages study-abroad and exchange programs, facilitates the development of faculty-led international courses, and collaborates with the Office of Admission to support, enrich and expand international student enrollment at Saint Peter’s University."
Educational Opportunity Fund Program (EOF)
"The mission of the Educational Opportunity Fund (EOF) Program at Saint Peter’s University is to provide students who come from disadvantaged academic and economic backgrounds with the necessary skills to enroll and successfully complete their college education."
Liberty and Ellis Islands - Gateway to America
From 1892 to 1924, Ellis Island was America's largest and most active immigration station, and the Statue of Liberty, dedicated in 1886, came to symbolize human liberty for the millions of people arriving in the United States from foreign shores.

With the recent reopening of Liberty and Ellis Islands since the devastation of Superstorm Sandy in 2012, the University Archives is spotlighting images and documents from the Hon. Frank J. Guarini Congressional Collection pertaining to the national historic sites.
Students with Disabilities
The University is committed to providing reasonable and appropriate accommodations. For additional information regarding accommodations please refer to the Course Catalog.
The Center for Academic Success and Engagement (CASE)
Provides tutors and supplemental academic instruction to Saint Peter’s University students. The Center offers assistance in writing and mathematics as well as certain specialty subjects. Help with study skills, reading improvement, and all phases of research paper development is also available. 
Title V - The Oscar Romero Project
"The Oscar Romero Project is designed to narrow the gaps in GPAs, retention and graduation rates, as well as improving college access for Latino and all generation 1.5 students (where English is not the first language at home). While these populations are targeted, the Institute will improve the educational environment for all students."
For information on Title V please contact Dr. David Surrey at dsurrey@saintpeters.edu.

Title V

Statistics/Data

American Fact Finder
"American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys. For more information see Using FactFinder and What We Provide."
Educational Attainment
Compiled by the United States Census Bureau.
National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Polling the Nations
"Polls are an integral part of everyday life with results reported daily in the media. Survey information provides much of the basic underpinning for newspaper and magazine articles, radio and television news reports and speeches of public officials. When people read or hear these secondary sources they are getting information filtered through another's prism. Having access to the primary information provides a fresh perspective that can be found in no other place."

Organizations

Association of American Colleges and Universities: Diversity and Inclusive Excellence
"Since 1971 AAC&U has developed initiatives that bring together faculty and institutions of higher learning to provide national leadership that advances diversity and equity in higher education, and the best educational practices for an increasingly diverse population."
National Coalition Building Institute
“The National Coalition Building Institute is an international, non-profit, leadership training organization based in Washington, DC, USA. Since 1984, NCBI has worked to eliminate racism and all other forms of prejudice and discrimination throughout the world.” 
Teaching Tolerance
"A place for educators to find thought-provoking news, conversation and support for those who care about diversity, equal opportunity and respect for differences in schools." Developed by the Southern Poverty Law Center.
Diversity
Subject Liaison
Picture: Mary Kinahan-Ockay

Mary Kinahan-Ockay
University Archivist
Tel: 201-761- 6462
mkinahan@saintpeters.edu

Picture: Scott Kushner

Scott Kushner
Systems Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6456
skushner@saintpeters.edu

Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu

Picture: Ann Marie Ziadie

Ann Marie Ziadie
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6459
aziadie@saintpeters.edu