Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information from all areas of education. Includes journal articles, books and education-related conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
An information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) contains articles and abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.1966-present. 
Google Scholar Some full text available
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't been indexed in other databases.
For SPU Library Link, please go to the settings -> library links -> search & choose the Saint Peter's University Library.
note:
 
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
Journal of Catholic Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Catholic Higher Education is the peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, semi-annual journal of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities. It is the only international journal dedicated solely to the distribution of scholarly work and commentary with a focus on contemporary Catholic higher education in the United States and around the world.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
MAS Ultra – School Edition: Magazine Article Summaries (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
MAS Online is a comprehensive full text general reference database designed for high school and junior college libraries. This database includes: searchable full text of articles, reports and special issues from nearly 200 of the most wanted K-12 magazines; searchable full text for The Christian Science Monitor, winner of the 1996 Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting; over 3,000 charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text to provide students with a complete understanding of the original printed articles; Essential Documents of American Historya database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; coverage of the Department of Education’s College Guide; searchable full text for 400 pamphlets; searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill’s Book Reviews.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.  Helpful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, ethics, and writing position papers.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to dissertations and theses, with some in full text.   Proquest’s open access dissertations and theses are also available at PQDT Open.
ProQuest Education Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full-text peer-reviewed literature on primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
All articles indexed in PsycARTICLES are also indexed and linked in PsycINFO.
Includes full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals linked to every record. Includes all articles from the journal issues indexed, as well as errata and letters to the editor. Indexes selected U.S., Canadian, and European psychology journals.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index, abstracts, and some full-text for psychology journals from 1806-present, and books, 1967-present. 
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides indexing and abstracts for teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

Catalogs

Worldcat - OCLC Online Union Catalog
Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. 

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

APA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
Chicago Manual of Style -- Web Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

AAUP (American Association of University Professors)
The AAUP's purpose is to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education.
Association of American Colleges and Universities
Through its meetings, public advocacy, and programs, AAC&U provides a powerful voice for liberal education.
Association of College & Research Libraries
A division of the American Library Association, ACRL is dedicated to enhancing the ability of academic library and information professionals to serve the information needs of the higher education community and to improve learning, teaching, and research.
Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities
Data on all 28 member institutions. 
Black Collegian Online
News and career links aimed primarily at African-American students.
Chronicle Data
Search and explore faculty, staff, and adjunct salary data at thousands of colleges.
DocsTeach
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history. Register to create an account. Developed by the National Archives.
Education Week Some full text available
Register for the free newsletter that provides access to current news in education, teacher resources, digital directions and more.
Inside Higher Ed
Free Higher Education news, jobs, career advice and events for college and university faculty, adjuncts, graduate students, and administrators.
National Survey of Student Engagement
Through its student survey, The College Student Report, NSSE annually collects information at hundreds of four-year colleges and universities about student participation in programs and activities that institutions provide for their learning and personal development.
NEA National Education Association
In existence since 1857.
PolicyArchive
A comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.
Profession
Open access journal.
State Higher Education Executive Officers
Serving statewide coordinating and governing boards in developing and sustaining excellent systems of higher education. Includes a States Quick Facts link.
U.S. NEWS: Best College Rankings
College rankings, graduate school and financial aid guides from U.S. News Online, including America's Best Colleges.

K - 12

Edutopia
The George Lucas Educational Foundation. Created to identify and spread innovative, replicable and evidence-based approaches to helping K-12 students learn better. University and college intitiatives are also included.

Online Education

Coursera
Free online noncredit courses taught by professors at Stanford, Princeton, the University of California at Berkeley, the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Michigan to name a few.
EdX
A joint partnership between The Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and Harvard University to offer free online courses to millions of people around the world. EdX courses will offer a certificate but not credit.

Relevant Subject Guides

Standards

CEC: Practice Standards
Council for Exceptional Children
InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards
Developed by CCSSO’s Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC)
ISTE: NETS Standards
National Educational Technology Standards
New Jersey Student Learning Standards
New Jersey Department of Education

Tutorials

ERIC Tutorials Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Links to several YouTube videos.

Newspapers

Chronicle of Higher Education
Weekly news and job information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. Full-text access from 1999 to the present (with a 30 day delay) is available via the Library's subscription. Current issues are available in print on the Browsing shelves in the Reference Room of the O'Toole Library.

Statistics/Data

DATA.GOV
Explore education datasets, apps, resources for the classroom, and details about paying for college. These datasets cover education at all levels.
ED.gov: Research and Statistics
U.S. Department of Education
EdStats
Worldwide educational statistics from the World Bank.
Educational Attainment
Compiled by the United States Census Bureau.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
The primary source for data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States.
National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Polling the Nations
"Polls are an integral part of everyday life with results reported daily in the media. Survey information provides much of the basic underpinning for newspaper and magazine articles, radio and television news reports and speeches of public officials. When people read or hear these secondary sources they are getting information filtered through another's prism. Having access to the primary information provides a fresh perspective that can be found in no other place."
State of New Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education
An annual compilation of data on New Jersey higher education.

Government Information

New Jersey Department of Education
Data on New Jersey schools, grants, professional development opportunities, and links to internet resources for teachers and parents. In addition, information on the ESPA, GEPA, HSPA and HSPT examinations is featured via the link to Standards and Assessment. 
Introduction to Library Services
Locating a Journal by Title
Literature Review Tutorial
Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students 

Created by librarians at North Carolina State University.

The Chronicle of Higher Education - RSS Feed

Loading ...

Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu