Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Book Index with Reviews (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information on millions of books, in-print and out-of-print, including fiction and non-fiction titles in all genres, many with full-text reviews. Also includes the BIR Entertainment which provides information on about 450,000 music titles and over 200,000 DVD/video titles with more being added regularly.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes poems in full text  as well as poet biographies, poetry commentary, literary glossary terms, and texts on history and criticism.  
Contemporary Authors (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on all of the U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series. Updated monthly.
Gale Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to biographies, work overviews, bibliographies, themes, links to web sites, and full text articles is available.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information from literary journals, reference works and books which provide biographical and critical analysis of thousands of literary figures and their writings.
MLA Directory of Periodicals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains information on over 6,000 journals and book series that fall within the scope of the MLA International Bibliography.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Modern Language Association database of journal articles, books, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Literature & Language Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on literature and language for researchers of all levels.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
MLA handbook for writers of research papers
Print location: LB2369 .G53 2009

E-books

Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

Contemporary Writers in the United Kingdom Some full text available Resource contains images
This unique, searchable database contains up-to-date profiles of many of the UK and Commonwealth's most important living writers.
INFOMINE: Social Sciences & Humanities
Gateway to scholarly internet resources.
Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database
This database from New York University Medical School provides interesting annotations to works of art, literature and film that relate to medicine. 
Project Gutenberg Some full text available Resource contains images
Over 33,000 free ebooks to download and read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device. Over more 100,000 free ebooks are available through our Partners, Affiliates and Resources.
Voice of the Shuttle (VoS): Literature (in English)
Scholarly internet resources, organized in categories by genre, period, region, and resource type.  Links maintained by Dr. Alan Liu and a team of graduate students from the U.California, Santa Barbara, English Department.

Journals/Magazines

PMLA Some full text available
PMLA is the journal of the Modern Language Association of America.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
The OED online contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition and the latest progress towards the next, Third, edition.

Encyclopedias

Organizations

Academy of American Poets
Brief biographies and some full text from major American poets, a poetry classroom, poetry news, and discussions of poetry are available from this site. 
Subject Liaison
Picture: DeCoster Daisy

DeCoster Daisy
Senior Assistant Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6456
ddecoster@saintpeters.edu

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files