Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information from all areas of education. Includes journal articles, books and education-related conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
An information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) contains articles and abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.1966-present. 
Google Scholar Some full text available
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't been indexed in other databases.
For SPU Library Link, please go to the settings -> library links -> search & choose the Saint Peter's University Library.
note:
 
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
Journal of Catholic Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Catholic Higher Education is the peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, semi-annual journal of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities. It is the only international journal dedicated solely to the distribution of scholarly work and commentary with a focus on contemporary Catholic higher education in the United States and around the world.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
MAS Ultra – School Edition: Magazine Article Summaries (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
MAS Online is a comprehensive full text general reference database designed for high school and junior college libraries. This database includes: searchable full text of articles, reports and special issues from nearly 200 of the most wanted K-12 magazines; searchable full text for The Christian Science Monitor, winner of the 1996 Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting; over 3,000 charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text to provide students with a complete understanding of the original printed articles; Essential Documents of American Historya database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; coverage of the Department of Education’s College Guide; searchable full text for 400 pamphlets; searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill’s Book Reviews.
MiddleSearch Plus (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Middle Search Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.
NoveList Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A reader’s advisory resource for fiction. Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Author Read-alikes, Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks. 
Novelist Plus K-8 (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Focuses on nonfiction reading materials that support the school curriculum, as well as the recreational reading interests of children and students from preschool through middle school.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.  Helpful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, ethics, and writing position papers.
PrimarySearch (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles)
ProQuest Career and Technical Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database is the definitive source for vocational information for students and faculty. Includes over 750 titles.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to dissertations and theses, with some in full text.   Proquest’s open access dissertations and theses are also available at PQDT Open.
ProQuest Education Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full-text peer-reviewed literature on primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
All articles indexed in PsycARTICLES are also indexed and linked in PsycINFO.
Includes full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals linked to every record. Includes all articles from the journal issues indexed, as well as errata and letters to the editor. Indexes selected U.S., Canadian, and European psychology journals.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index, abstracts, and some full-text for psychology journals from 1806-present, and books, 1967-present. 
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides indexing and abstracts for teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

APA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
Chicago Manual of Style -- Web Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites
Created by librarians at the University of Maryland.
Council for Exceptional Children
The voice and vision of special education.
Disability-Related Resources on the Internet Some full text available Resource contains images
From Project DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) at the University of Washington. Links to discussion lists and Web sites.
Education Week Some full text available
Register for the free newsletter that provides access to current news in education, teacher resources, digital directions and more.
Educational Testing Service Network
The ETS administers the - SAT, GRE, GMAT, LSAT, TOEFL and other tests used as part of the entrance requirements for American higher education. This site provides links to each test's home page where you can find more information, test sites, forms, and codes. 
FinAid!
Links to financial aid. Sponsored by the National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators.
Garden State Coalition of Schools
Participants are a unique mix of parents, board of education members and superintendents who bring a broad perspective to GSCS initiatives. 
IIE Passport
Search Study Abroad Programs.
Instructional Design
This Website includes the database developed by Greg Kearsley, of fifty major theories on human learning and instruction. Each theory contains a concise overview scope and application notes, an example, principles and references.
IR Resources
Association for Institutional Research.
National Council of Teachers of English
Since 1911, NCTE has worked to advance teaching, research, and student achievement in English language arts at all scholastic levels.
NEA National Education Association
In existence since 1857.
Prelinger Archives Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A collection of over 60,000 advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur films. Acquired by the Library of Congress in 2002.
Profession
Open access journal.
UNESCO International Bureau of Education
Investigate or compare global educational practices.

K - 12

ALSC: The John Newbery Medal
The Association for Library Service to Children web site, provides extensive information on the John Newbery Medal. This award is presented annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. A link to winners dating from 1922 to the present is included. 
ALSC: The Randolph Caldecott Medal
The Association for Library Service to Children web site, provides extensive information on the Caldecott Medal. This award is presented annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. A link to past winners dating from 1938 to the present is included. 
America's Literacy Directory
"America's Literacy Directory (ALD) is a web site that allows users to find local literacy providers in all 50 states and the U.S. territories. The ALD includes literacy programs for adults, children, and families." Includes GED and ESL programs and opportunities for volunteering. You can search by city, ZIP code or area. 
Bloom's Taxonomy
A comprehensive guide to Benjamin Bloom's levels of intellectual classifications. 
Brown Center on Education
"The purpose of the Brown Center on Education Policy at Brookings is to examine the problems of the American education system and to help delineate practical solutions. Most of the Center’s research has focused on the elementary and secondary levels, but its agenda is expanding to consider related challenges for higher education as well."
Center for Effective School Practices
CESP is a unit of the Rutgers University Division of Continuous Education and Outreach which includes links to Teachers Researching for Equity (TRSE), the New Jersey Charter School Resource Center (CSRC), and a Small Schools Initiative.
Consortium for Policy Research in Education (CPRE)
Created in 1985, the Consortium for Policy Research in Education (CPRE) unites researchers from seven of the nation's leading research institutions—University of Pennsylvania, Teachers College Columbia University, Harvard University, Stanford University, University of Michigan, University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Northwestern University—in an effort to improve elementary and secondary education through practical research.
DocsTeach
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history. Register to create an account. Developed by the National Archives.
EDSITEment
A gateway for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies. 
Edutopia
The George Lucas Educational Foundation. Created to identify and spread innovative, replicable and evidence-based approaches to helping K-12 students learn better. University and college intitiatives are also included.
Homeschool World
Provides a wealth of information for parents and students interested in homeschooling and educators who need to know about homeschooling practices in the US and worldwide.
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators
Provides a categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. It is updated often to include the best sites for teaching and learning. 
LD Online
Leading website on learning disabilities and ADHD.
Lesson Plans Library
Hundreds of K-12 lesson plans from Discovery School.com
Meet Me At The Corner
Virtual field trips for kids.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
Includes K-12 lessons and resources.
New York Times Learning Network
Designed for use by K-12 classroom teachers, The New York Times Learning Network (NYTLN) resource provides access both to news articles related to the use of the Internet for classroom teaching and to Web-based curriculum materials tied to current events.
NSBA - National School Boards Association
 A not-for-profit organization representing state associations of school boards and their member districts across the United States.
PBS Teachers Resource contains video
Guides to PBS programs and resources for use in K-12 teaching, along with information on copyright and taping. 
PowerMyLearning
K-12 web-based learning activities and games that have been selected and categorized by teachers and education specialists. The platform is discussed in the New York Times  piece "A Digital Tool to Unlock Learning," 19 September 2012.
School Psychology: Resources for Parents, Teachers and Psychologists
This informational site, established in 1995, provides access to an array of valuable online resources for psychologists, K-12 and postsecondary educators, teacher educators, and parents.
Teacher's Domain
Digital media for the classroom and professional development.
The Center for the Advancement of Ethics and Character
Developed at the Boston University School of Education. The aim of this site is to "help teachers, administrators, and parents build good character in today's students and tomorrow's leaders." 
TheSolutionSite.com
Features k-12 lesson plans. 
Visible Thinking
A division of Harvard Univeristy's Project Zero, a wide-ranging initiative designed to improve teaching and learning, with an emphasis on critical and creative thinking.
Web English Teacher
Designed for those teaching English, either as literature or a language, this site is also useful for literature students. Under "Literature (Prose)" for example, you will find biographies of authors and selected essays, such as Amy Tan's essay "Mother Tongue" on her experience growing up in a house in which English was not the native language. 

Online Education

Coursera
Free online noncredit courses taught by professors at Stanford, Princeton, the University of California at Berkeley, the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Michigan to name a few.
EdX
A joint partnership between The Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and Harvard University to offer free online courses to millions of people around the world. EdX courses will offer a certificate but not credit.

Praxis Reviews

McGraw-Hill's Praxis I & II Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes 3 practice PPST tests.
Praxis Series Official Guide Restricted Resource Some full text available
Practice with 6 full-length actual PPSTs.
Praxis Series: Professional Assessments for Beginning Teachers
This site describes the tests and has links to other sites with test information. Sample tests and test Dates are also available at the site.

Relevant Subject Guides

Health and Physical Education Subject Guide
Includes the database SPORTDiscus for physical education research.

Rubrics

iRubric
Online free rubric builder and assessment tool. Includes a gallery of available customizable rubrics in numerous disciplines.

Standards

CEC: Practice Standards
Council for Exceptional Children
InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards
Developed by CCSSO’s Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC)
ISTE: NETS Standards
National Educational Technology Standards
New Jersey Student Learning Standards
New Jersey Department of Education

Statistics/Data

ED.gov: Research and Statistics
U.S. Department of Education
EdStats
Worldwide educational statistics from the World Bank.
Educational Attainment
Compiled by the United States Census Bureau.
National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Polling the Nations
"Polls are an integral part of everyday life with results reported daily in the media. Survey information provides much of the basic underpinning for newspaper and magazine articles, radio and television news reports and speeches of public officials. When people read or hear these secondary sources they are getting information filtered through another's prism. Having access to the primary information provides a fresh perspective that can be found in no other place."

Government Information

Education Resource Organizations Directory (EROD)
From the US Department of Education, this resource is intended to help students, educators, and parents locate state, regional, and national organizations that provide information and assistance on a broad range of education-related topics.
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE)
A collection of teaching and learning resources from Federal Agencies.
New Jersey Department of Education
Data on New Jersey schools, grants, professional development opportunities, and links to internet resources for teachers and parents. In addition, information on the ESPA, GEPA, HSPA and HSPT examinations is featured via the link to Standards and Assessment. 
Introduction to Lbrary Services
Locating a Journal by Title
Literature Review Tutorial
Education Week - RSS Feed

Loading ...