Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering all areas of communication and mass media studies. 
Digital Theatre Plus Restricted Resource
Digital Theatre Plus features high-definition live video captures of British theatrical productions, along with production information, interviews with key creative players, and teaching materials. Digital Theatre works in partnership with leading theater companies, education organizations and arts collectives in the UK to make the best theater, English, and drama resources widely available.
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
JURN Some full text available
A curated academic search engine indexing 4,290 free ejournals in the arts and humanities. 
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
 "Oscar is a major icon in Western culture, and the Academy a major institution. This site can be easily accessed through either the six headings atop the home page or the three drop-down menus at the bottom."
American Film Institute
The mission of this organization is "dedicated to advancing and preserving the art of the moving image". Links to the AFI's annual report, information on workshops, life achievement awards, preservation and history are included. 
British Film Institute
Links to a variety of pages including selected reviews in the current issue of Sight and Sound magazine and access to the BFI National Library Catalog. 
Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites
Created by librarians at the University of Maryland.
Cinema in Latin America
One of several links included in "The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) which is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin. 
Cinema: Bobst Collection and Resources
New York University - Includes links to Bobst collections and resources, cinema studies information servers, and internet discussion groups. 
DocsTeach
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history. Register to create an account. Developed by the National Archives.
Drew's Script-O-Rama
Extensive collection of movie and television scripts.
EarlyCinema.com
Subpages cover topics ranging from pioneers like Thomas Edison and Cecil Hepworth to the various technological devices that led to the invention and diffusion of moving pictures to an A-Z glossary.
Film Education
This site was developed by the UK Film Industry to promote and support the use of film within the curriculum.
Film Literature Index
Coverage: 1976 - 2001. 
Film Society of Lincoln Center
Includes access to selected articles featured in Film Comment magazine. Links to the annual gala tribute, membership information, and the New York film festival are provided. 
Films in Review
The FIR Webzine will be updated often. This online version includes the FIR Archive. Going back sixty years into the publication’s past. 
Images: A Journal of Film and Popular Culture
All previous features and reviews are available online. 
Internet Movie Database
Comprehensive overview of the motion picture industry that includes links to new releases, cast lists, reviews, filmographies and plot summaries. 
Journal of Religion and Film
Online journal provided by the Department of Philosophy and Religion at the University of Nebraska.
Landmark Loew's Jersey Theatre
Maintained and operated by local volunteers. Presentations include restored copies of classic films in a variety of genres. Guest speakers often lecture and hold question and answer sessions. 
Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database
This database from New York University Medical School provides interesting annotations to works of art, literature and film that relate to medicine. 
Motion Picture and Television Reading Room Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Library of Congress began collecting motion pictures in 1893.
Movie Review Query Engine
Contains 94,788 reviews. 
Museum of the Moving Image Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Embracing a wide range of subjects, from nineteenth century optical toys to the latest in digital art, the Museum explores every phase of the production, promotion, and exhibition of moving images. Located in Astoria, New York.
Musicals101.com
The Cyber Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, TV and Film created by John Kenrick. 
National Film Preservation Foundation
Includes information on preservation basics, news, grants & projects, and films preserved through the NFPF. 
SIBMAS International Directory of Performing Arts Collections and Institutions
International directory of performing arts collections and institutions.
Variety
Entertainment news and film reviews.

Journals/Magazines

Magill's Cinema Annual
Print Location: PN1993.3 .M34

Dictionaries

Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu

ZaSu Pitts & Mary Pickford