Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 Restricted Resource Some full text available
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.  This resource has been created from the authoritative bibliography, European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The World's Most Comprehensive Full-Text History Reference Database.Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Searchable full text back to the first issue (1851 until 2 years ago). The collection includes digital reproductions of text and images, providing access to every page from every available issue. 
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Military Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes over 600 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style -- Web Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.

E-books

Gutenberg-e Some full text available
Award-winning historical monographs coordinated with the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press.

Internet Resources

American Memory Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Digital historical collections (photos, sounds, movies, text) from the Library of Congress.
Making of America: Cornell Library Some full text available Resource contains images
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to monographs and journals with 19th century imprints, as well as primary source Civil War documents.
Research in Military Records: Vietnam War
from the National Archives and Records Administration
Voice of the Shuttle (VoS): History
Links to scholarly internet resources, updated and maintained by faculty and students at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Will Durant Foundation
Biographical and other information about Saint Peter's graduate Will Durant, author, with his wife Ariel, of the "Story of Civilization" and other writings, and of a "Declaration of Interdependence" of religious and racial groups in 1944 that is still of interest and importance today. 

Journals/Magazines

Old Fulton NY Post Cards Some full text available
Search Over 19,648,000 Old New York State Historical Newspaper Pages.

Bibliographies

Chambers Biographical Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
International and historical coverage of all areas of human achievement including the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business.
Debrett's Peerage & Baronetage 2008 Restricted Resource Some full text available
The essential reference to the British aristocracy. Contains the genealogical details of every British duke, marquess, viscount, earl, baron and baronet, together with all the living members of their families in the male line.
Great Victorian Lives: An Era in Obituaries Restricted Resource Some full text available
Brings together obituaries from The Times of John Thadeus Delane (1841-77) and his successors, and shows how some of the leading personalities of the 19th century were viewed by a paper that was itself one of the defining institutions of the age.

Dictionaries

Andromeda Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Facts about historical events, periods, and personalities available under alphabetically arranged headword entries. Coverage extends across every continent and every century of history. The entries have been prepared by professional historians, and Jeremy Black, Professor of History at the University of Exeter, has acted as academic consultant.
Chambers Dictionary of World History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes panels on important themes of ancient and modern history and newly revised and updated historical and thematic maps. In-depth focus on the period from 1000AD to the present day. 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of World History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Houghton Mifflin, 2001

Images

National Portrait Gallery Resource contains images
The Gallery in London holds the most extensive collection of portraits in the world.
NYPL Digital Gallery Resource contains images
Images from the New York Public Library collections.
BEST BETS (for scholarly research)
Subject Liaison
Picture: DeCoster Daisy

DeCoster Daisy
Senior Assistant Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6456
ddecoster@saintpeters.edu