Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on social science information for researchers of all levels.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.

E-books

Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches Restricted Resource Some full text available
Including a never-before published speech by Martin Luther King, Jr., this is the first compilation of its kind, bringing together the most influential and important voices from two hundred years of America's struggle for civil rights, including essential speeches from leaders, both famous and obscure.

Internet Resources

Catholic Social Teaching
This web site of the   Office of Social Justice/Catholic Charities of St. Paul and Minneapolis, offers official documents   on  the Church's social teaching. One can find easy access to major themes of social teaching documents of the last century and notable quotations.
Common Dreams
 Common Dreams is a nonprofit, progressive, nonpartisan citizens' organization founded in 1997. It provides online news, opinions, ideas,  and in-depth analysis by some of the world's best progressive writers, thinkers and activists.
Death Penalty Information Center
A non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment. They provide current statistics and polls, discussion papers, and links to other sites.

Statistics/Data

World Gazetteer
Provides easy to use census and population statistics from all over the world. 

Government Information

U.S. Department of State: Human Rights Reports
In depth reports from over 190 countries on current conditions on human rights, law and justice. 

Organizations

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
The ACLU works in the courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed by the Constitution and laws of the United States.
Amnesty International
Amnesty International publishes a detailed annual report and special reports covering abuses in war-torn or occupied regions, and within nations. 
Fair Trade USA
Non-profit organization dedicated to finding markets for the products of  farmers and workers in developing countries. Educates consumers in the United States and other developed countries on the living and working conditions of the poor.
Interreligious Task Force on Central America
 he InterReligious Task Force on Central America (IRTF) is a Cleveland-based interfaith group that promotes peace and human rights in Central America and Colombia. People of faith and conscience founded IRTF after the 1980 execution of four U.S. church women in El Salvador by U.S.-trained soldiers
Southern Poverty Law Center
The Southern Poverty Law Center, through the use of litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy,  is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry, and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society.

Radio Stations

Democracy Now
Award winning radio news program hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez. Daily national and international news on issues related to peace and justice, including live interviews with investigative reporters, activists, and scholars.
Subject Liaison
Picture: Mark Graceffo

Mark Graceffo
Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6464
mgraceffo@saintpeters.edu

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files