Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Handbook of Latin American Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Literature & Language Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on literature and language for researchers of all levels.
Referencia Latina Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers content from a variety of sources including 49,000 encyclopedia entries.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

E-books

Internet Resources

Economic Commission for Latin America and Caribbean
ECLAD provides statistical information for local, regional and national analysis from the United Nations.
INFOMINE: Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Resources
Scholarly internet resource collections.
Latin America Since 1826
This site provides a comprehensive list of primary sources on various topics detailing Latin America History such as war, independence, slavery and human rights.  
Latin American Network Information Center

This research center at the University of Texas at Austin  provides many links to subjects such as Economy, Education, Government, Media and Social Sciences.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
This extensive collection that is housed at Harvard University provides a unique look into the social and political world of Latin America from 19th and 20th centuries.
NativeWeb
NativeWeb is a non-profit organization that provides information about indigenous peoples worldwide. The goal of the this organization is to communicate between native and non-native peoples to encourage understanding regarding origins of cultures and people in different countries. 
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development was formed as an international partnership in 1961 to stimulate economic progress and trade. This site provides interactive charts and current data for countries in Latin America for social, demographic and economic indicators.
Political Database of the Americas
This site provides current information for governments in North and South America from all three executive branches of government.  The site is housed at the Center for Latin American Studies in Georgetown University. 
Socio-Economic Database for Latin America and the Caribbean
Data provided by the Universidad Nacional de la Plata and the World Bank on many social economic indicators such as poverty, housing, employment, and education. 
Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America, 1520-1820 Resource contains images
Showing the interaction of European and indigenous culture, Vistas "offers a critical selection of color images, primary sources, and interpretive essays on colonial history and culture." Documents in Spanish, English, Nahuatl, Quiché Maya, and other languages are also part of the site. 

Statistics/Data

CIA World Fact Book
The World Fact Book provides information and statistics on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.  
Pew Hispanic Center
The Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation.  Publications are available on demography, labor, identity, immigration, education, and other topics.

Encyclopedias

Organizations

Maryknoll Office for Global Concerns
The Maryknoll Office for Global Concerns: Peace, Social Justice and Integrity of Creation, is a collaborative ministry of the MaryKnoll Sisters the Maryknoll Fathers and Brothers and the Maryknoll Lay Missioners. The Office works in Latin America and around the world.
National Council of La Raza
La Raza is the largest national Latino civil rights and advocacy organization in the United States. NCLR works to improve opportunities for Hispanic Americans. Information on issues such as: immigration, education, civil rights, youth, and the work force can be found here.
North American Congress on Latin America
The North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) is an independent, nonprofit organization providing information and analysis on the nations and peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean. Study and report on the politics and economics of these regions and their continually changing relationship to the United States. 
Washington Office on Latin America
The Washington Office on Latin America facilitates dialogue between governmental and non-governmental actors, monitors the impact of policies and programs of governments and international organizations, and promotes alternatives through reporting, education, training and advocacy. News, analysis, and research on Latin America, including podcasts and videos.
Subject Liaison
Picture: Mark Graceffo

Mark Graceffo
Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6464
mgraceffo@saintpeters.edu