Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on social science information for researchers of all levels.
ProQuest Social Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, anthropology, political science and international relations.
ProQuest Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.

Associations

Stone Wall Veteran's Association
In June of 1969, the New York City Police raided the Stone Wall Club, a gay bar in Greenwich Village. Patrons of the bar and neighborhood resisted the police harrassment, fought back, and the Gay Rights Movement was born. The Stone Wall Veteran's Associagtion is dedicated to preserving the historical memory of this event and the subsequent Gay Right's Movement.

Museums

GLBT Historical Society - archives & museum
Located in San Francisco, the GLBT Historical Society preserves and interprets the history of GLBT people and the communities that support them. The Society's web site contains photographs and audiovisual recordings, and organizational records. These collections include unpublished material such as letters, diaries and scrapbooks documenting the lives of both average people and community leaders. Audio archive includes interviews with Harvey Milk.
Smithsonian's National Museum of American History
In 2014, the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History significantly added to their artifacts documenting GLBT history in America. On their blog one can find short articles about GLBT history and the museums GLBT collection. Some titles are  "Queens and Queers: the rise of drag ball culture in the 1920s;"  "Collecting an Epidemic: the AIDS Memorial Quilt; and "Better Gay than Grumpy" an article about the the museums collection of GLBT buttons from 1970s - 1990s.
The Lesbian Herstory Archives
Located in Park Slope, Brooklyn, the Her Story Archives identifies itself as part library, part museum, and a community gathering space that houses the world’s largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. The Archives has both print and non-print materials, such as books, unpublished papers, conference proceedings, newsletters, photographs, slides, periodicals, audio-tapes, CDs, DVDS, videos, films, artwork, calendars, banners, manuscriptsother materials about lesbians and lesbian lives in the U.S. and in other countries.
The Leslie Lohman Museum of Gay & Lesbian Art
A non-profit foundation, founded in 1987, The Leslie Lohman Museum of Gay and Lesbian Art is the first dedicated LGBTQ art museum in the world with a mission to exhibit and preserve LGBTQ art, and foster the artists who create it. Located in NYC's Soho neighborhood, the Leslie Lohman hosts exhibitions, lectures, and other events to support their mission.

Journals/Magazines

The Advocate
Online news journal covering LGBT news, arts, business, politics, etc.

Web Sites

LGBTQ Nation
LGBTQ Nation is an online news magazine reporting on issues of importance to the LGBTQ community.

Encyclopedias

Organizations

ACTUP NY
Activist group focusing on health issues related to HIV/AIDS. 
Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Deformation (GLAAD)
GLAAD works to bring fair and accurate reporting of the LGBT community to print, broadcast and online news stories. Download reports such as: Reporting on the Bisexual Community: A Resources for Journalists and Media Professionals, Debunking the 'Bathroom Bill' Myth, Understanding Issues Facing Transgender Americans, Accelerating Acceptance 2016: A Harris Poll Survey of Americans' Acceptance of LGBT People.
Gay Men's Health Crisis
In 1981, at the height of the AIDS epidemic and with fear rampant in the gay community, a group of men met in an apartment in NYC. Determined to do something to address the disease that was decimating gay communities all over the world, this small group of men started what became the world's first AIDS service organization. Thirty five years later, the Gay Men's Health Center continues to fight for the medical and mental health care needs of those affected by HIV/AIDS, and the stigma and discrimination that often goes with it.
Lambda Literary
Lambda Literary's mission statement: Lambda Literary believes LGBTQ is fundamental to the preservation of our culture, and that LGBTQ lives are affirmed when our stories are written, published and read. Their web site includes: reviews of literture, poetry, bio/memoir,  film, etc. Browse for literary events, awards, special projects (ex: LGBTQ Writers in high schools, colleges & universities), writers retreats, and more.
New York Public Library - LGBT
Search for LGBT resources in the New York Public Library's online collection. Book suggestions/reviews, photography archives.  LGBT resources: teen, black, jewish, senior, history, health.
The Center
The Center located on West 13th Street in NYC offers the LGBT community a welcoming place to gather and provides various programs for health and wellness.
Pride Flag
Harvey Milk Documentary
Subject Liaison
Picture: Mark Graceffo

Mark Graceffo
Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6464
mgraceffo@saintpeters.edu