Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Digital Theatre Plus Restricted Resource
Digital Theatre Plus features high-definition live video captures of British theatrical productions, along with production information, interviews with key creative players, and teaching materials. Digital Theatre works in partnership with leading theater companies, education organizations and arts collectives in the UK to make the best theater, English, and drama resources widely available.
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
JURN Some full text available
A curated academic search engine indexing 4,290 free ejournals in the arts and humanities. 
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style -- Web Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites
Created by librarians at the University of Maryland.
ChoralWiki
Free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information. 
Medieval and Renaissance Instruments Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Photos, descriptive texts and audio, from Musica Antiqua, an ensemble of musicians from Iowa State. 
Music Resources on the World Wide Web Resource contains video Resource contains audio

Compiled by Yale University.


Musicals101.com
The Cyber Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, TV and Film created by John Kenrick. 
NAXOS: Composers
Brief biographies of composers along with extensive streaming audio selections, makes this a very good site for classical music students. 
Public Domain Music Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Royalty-free music. Copyright information is also included.
SIBELIUS Academy
The Sibelius Academy, a conservatory in Helsinki, provides a list of music sites. It not only links you to jazz, blues, rock, and pop pages but covers famous composers, gospel, instruments, research, theory, and opera as well.
Voice of the Shuttle (VOS): Music
Links to scholarly internet resources, updated and maintained by faculty and students at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Worldwide Internet Music Resources
Compiled by librarians at the Indiana University Music Library. 

Dictionaries

New Grove Dictionary of American Music
Print Location: ML101.U6 N48 1986
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Print Location: ML102.J3 N48 2002
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Print Location: ML102.I5 N48 1984
New Grove Dictionary of Opera
Print Location: ML102.O6 N5 1992

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Print Location: ML102.P66.G84 1998
Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu

Ludwig van Beethoven