Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information from all areas of education. Includes journal articles, books and education-related conference papers.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The World's Most Comprehensive Full-Text History Reference Database.Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
ProQuest Education Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full-text peer-reviewed literature on primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

Major King Events Chronology: 1929 - 1968 Some full text availableopenURL
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute: Stanford University.
Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site Some full text available Resource contains images
"The King Library and Archives in Atlanta is the largest repository of primary source materials on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and the American Civil Rights Movement in the world."
Morehouse College: King Collection openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"The Office of the Morehouse College King Collection has been established to oversee the conservation and preservation of the Collection; to promote teaching, research and scholarship, and to develop campus-based programming and community outreach initiatives that highlight the teachings and philosophy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr."
NAACP Honors Dr. King's Legacy
Overview of Dr. King's career with quotes from selected speeches and writings.
Papal Encyclicals Online Some full text available
Pope Francis - March 13, 2013 to the present.
Remembering Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. on His 86th Birthday
This blog post addresses some of the important contemporary domestic and international issues that Clarence B. Jones believes would be of major concern to Dr. King if he were alive today. They are based on his personal recollections of conversations and discussions with Dr. King over the approximately seven years he worked with him as a political advisor, personal lawyer and draft speechwriter.
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"Building upon the achievements of Stanford University’s Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute supports a broad range of activities illuminating the Nobel Peace laureate’s life and the movements he inspired."

Museums

National Civil Rights Museum Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The museum is located at the Lorraine Motel, where Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. was assassinated on April 4, 1968.

Audio Files

Letter from Birmingham Jail - Audio Recording Some full text available Resource contains audio
The Martin Luther King Jr. Research and Education Institute: Stanford University
Listen To An Unearthed Martin Luther King Jr. Recording You've Never Heard Some full text available Resource contains audio
"Recorded on February 6, 1964, at The New School in New York."
Selma, Martin Luther King Jr., and the Lyndon Johnson Tapes Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Provided by The Miller Center, a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history.
UCLA Newsroom Resource contains audio
"The speech, recorded originally on 7-inch, reel- to-reel tapes, will become part of the UCLA Communication Studies Speech Archive, an online collection of more than 400 speeches delivered on campus by politicians, activists, entertainment personalities and other newsmakers primarily during the 1960s and ’70s."

Images

Prints and Online Catalog Resource contains images
Library of Congress

Primary Sources

Primary Sources - Martin Luther King, Jr. Resources - LibGuides at Cornell University Some full text availableopenURL

A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event. Some types of primary sources include:

  • ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS (excerpts or translations acceptable): Diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, interviews, news film footage, autobiographies, official records 
  • CREATIVE WORKS: Poetry, drama, novels, music, art 
  • RELICS OR ARTIFACTS: Pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings

From: Cornell University


Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
Dinneen Auditorium
Michaelmas Convocation Address
Photo courtesy of the University Archives
Nobel Peace Prize Acceptance Speech
Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu