Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Alt Health Watch (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals, magazines, and other material on alternative health care and wellness.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Cumulated Index To Nursing And Allied Health Literature searches nursing, medical, and allied health journals, and conference proceedings. 
Exam Master Restricted Resource
Exam Master’s board review for the NCLEX-RN nursing examination prepares you for the actual NCLEX-RN test by offering you realistic practice exams and quality review questions covering the four client needs areas (safe and effective care environment, health promotion and maintenance, psycho-social and physiological integrity).
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences compiled by the National Library of Medicine.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
Pharmaceutical News Index Restricted Resource
Gives researchers access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for 22 key U.S. and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters. 
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to dissertations and theses, with some in full text.   Proquest’s open access dissertations and theses are also available at PQDT Open.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Health & Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on the latest medical information for researchers of all levels.
ProQuest Family Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers a range of subjects– from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,900 publications with over 1,500 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing.
ProQuest Health Management Restricted Resource Some full text available
Health administration - journal articles, dissertations. Full text included.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,050 titles, with over 875 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,300 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
Pubmed Central Some full text available
Free digital archive from the National Institute of Health featuring biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Salem Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Health-related reference information, including Magill's Medical and Cancer Guide as well as Cancer and Psychology reference sources from Salem.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Indexes journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
note: Please speak to the Librarian on duty at the Reference Desk or e-mail reference@saintpeters.edu to obtain full-text for specific articles. ScienceDirect to cease support of Internet Explorer 8 on January 1, 2016

Associations

AAHAM Some full text available
The premier professional organization in healthcare administrative management.
American Academy of Nurse Practitioners
AANP formed in 1985 to provide NPs with a unified way to network and advocate for NP issues and was the first national organization created for nurse practitioners of all specialties.
American Nurses Credentialing Center
A subsidiary of the American Nurses Association (ANA) that provides individuals and organizations throughout the nursing profession with the resources they need to achieve practice excellence.
American Psychiatric Nurses Association
A resource for psychiatric mental health nursing.
INSA
International Nurses Society on Addictions.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

APA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.

E-books

American Nursing Association’s (ANA) E-books Some full text available
This collection contains the most essential and updated professional reference titles from the most influential nursing professional organization, the American Nursing Association, via Ovid’s platform. 
Cancer Medicine, 5th ed Some full text available
This text is a reference source for medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, internists, surgical oncologists, and others who treat cancer patients.
Gray's Anatomy
from the 20th edition of 1918.
Key Concepts in Nursing Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.  SAGE, 2008     

Internet Resources

Agency for Health Care Research Some full text available Resource contains images
Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this site provides access to papers on Evidence-based Practice, Outcomes & Effectiveness, Technology Assessment, Preventive Services, and Clinical Practice Guidelines.
All Nurses Resource contains images
Links to multiple search engines and to Internet resources on nursing, diseases, software.
Cancer Library Some full text available
A bibliographic database of over 1.3 million citations and abstracts, from the National Cancer Institute.
CASA Some full text available
The National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University provides full-text reports on the costs, impact, and prevention of drug and alcohol abuse.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention Some full text available Resource contains images
Reputable information from US Department of Health and Human Services
Center of Alcohol Studies, Rutgers University Some full text available
Information about the Center and its library, one of the world's largest collections of materials on alcohol, along with links to other Internet resources.
ClinicalTrials.gov Some full text available
A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. Gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Cochrane Reviews Some full text available
Cochrane reviews are based on the best available information about healthcare interventions. They explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.
DailyMed Some full text available Resource contains images
From the National Library of Medicine; information about currently prescribed and marketed drugs.
Disability-Related Resources on the Internet Some full text available Resource contains images
From Project DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) at the University of Washington. Links to discussion lists and Web sites.
FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
News of the latest drugs, drug withdrawals, and the Orange Book of Approved Drug Products and their patent expiration dates.
Health Information Privacy
Information on HIPAA by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services .
HealthyNJ
Consumer health information from UMDNJ.
Johns Hopkins POC-IT Guides
Trusted content in the ABX, Diabetes, and HIV Guides.
Medline Plus Some full text available
Provided by the National Library of Medicine; information on drugs, supplements & herbal remedies.
Medline Plus: Organ Donation
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
MedScape Some full text available Resource contains images
Medscape from WebMD features newslinks from Reuters Health and Medscape Medical News,leading articles from major medical journals, free CME programs, selections from Scientific American Medicine, and very useful Specialty Home Pages. Free registration is required. Also, a reference and education section.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report
The MMWR presents weekly disease and accident statistics from the Centers for Disease Control, along with helpful fact sheets and other data.
National Center for Health Statistics
Statistical data and reports, international travel and health information, from the Centers for Disease Control.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
National Library of Medicine
Provides healthcare information on a wide variety of subjects. Searchable by database or subject.
NIDA: National Institute on Drug Abuse
The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
NJ Health Related Boards
From the State of New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety, Division of Consumer Affairs, this is a directory of NJ licensed physicians, nurses, acpuncturists, podiatrists, marriage and family therapists, and other health professionals, with links to forms, tables, rules, and laws.
NurseZone
This site offers a variety of links from job issues to life issues. Job search is by specialty and state. Career links include resume help, traveling nurse links and continuing education. Student nurses also have a special link for new grad jobs and resources.
Nursing Center Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Created by nurses as a site for clinical and professional informational needs
Nutrition Source: Knowledge for Healthy Eating
Information on nutrition from the The Harvard School of Public Health
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
A peer-reviewed, online publication that addresses current topics affecting nursing practice, research, education, and the wider health care sector.
organdonor.gov
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
PDR Health
Drug information and other resources from the publishers of the Physician's' Desk Reference.
Web Path: The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
Provides 1900 microscopic and gross images, tutorials and text on human disease. An excellent site for students.

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders Restricted Resource Some full text available
Nice, full-color illustrations of the various body systems.
2009, Dorling Kindersley
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

CINAHL Keyword Searching Tutorial
Subject Liaison
Picture: DeCoster Daisy

DeCoster Daisy
Senior Assistant Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6456
ddecoster@saintpeters.edu

Nursing Times -- Practice News

Loading ...