Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
Philosopher’s Index with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Now with over 200 full-text titles (more than half of which are available without an embargo), the renowned philosophy index offers even more for undergraduates, graduate students and researchers. International in scope, The Philosopher’s Index with Full Text offers content from 139 countries. It provides full-text journals published in the United States and Great Britain as well as in more than 30 other countries, including Australia, Brazil, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, China, Colombia, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Tunisia, and Uruguay.
PhilPapers

PhilPapers (sponsored by the University of London's Institute of Philosophy, the Joint Information Systems Committee, and the Australian National University’s Centre for Consciousness) aspires to be a comprehensive index and bibliography for philosophical works. In addition to indexing books and journal articles, it monitors open access archives and personal pages for articles by academic and professional philosophers. For an introduction see: http://philpapers.org/help/whatyoucando.html


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

Internet Resources

Voice of the Shuttle (VoS): Philosophy
Links to scholarly internet resources, updated and maintained by faculty and students at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Will Durant Foundation
Biographical and other information about Saint Peter's graduate Will Durant, author, with his wife Ariel, of the "Story of Civilization" and other writings, and of a "Declaration of Interdependence" of religious and racial groups in 1944 that is still of interest and importance today. 

Journals/Magazines

Journal of Jesuit Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Jesuit Studies (JJS) is a peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the study of Jesuit history from the 16th to the 21st century. It welcomes articles on all aspects of the Jesuit past and present including, but not limited to, the Jesuit role in the arts and sciences, theology, philosophy, mission, literature, and inter-religious/inter-cultural encounter.

Encyclopedias

A Companion to Socrates
Print Location: RDYREF B317 .C58 2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Who was Socrates? This book finds many answers to the question.
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy Restricted Resource Some full text available
270 articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment Some full text available
This encyclopedia tries to give a background to these great cultural changes.
Fifty Major Philosophers: A Reference Guide
Start here for brief introductions  to well-known philosophers.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Print Location: RDYREF B51 .R68 1998 Restricted Resource
Relatively up-to-date ten volume encyclopedia of philosophy which refers to current concerns.
The Order of Things
Print Location: RDYREF AG 105 .K57 1998
"How everything in the world is organized into hierarchies, structures, and pecking orders"
Derrida: Defining Deconstruction

Discovery Search
Search Books, Articles and more Classic Library Catalog   E-Journals  
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files