Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. 
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
PLOS ONe
PLOS ONE (eISSN-1932-6203) is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. Includes the full-text of several hundred books, which can be read for free online. The tables of contents and abstracts of the Proceedings of the NAS are also available on the website along with the NAS News Report.
Note: Full-text of current articles is available for a fee; back issues are available for free 6 months after publication.
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database covering Business and Economics, Health and Medical, News and World Affairs, Science, Education, Technology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Psychology, Literature, Law, and Women's Studies.  Search all Proquest databases simultaneously.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels.
ProQuest Science Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature in all major fields of study, including Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry and more.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Science Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Core coverage of most areas of science and some applied science areas. Includes journals, books, technical reports, and government reports.  1984-present
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Indexes journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
note: Please speak to the Librarian on duty at the Reference Desk or e-mail reference@saintpeters.edu to obtain full-text for specific articles. ScienceDirect to cease support of Internet Explorer 8 on January 1, 2016

E-books

IOP Science eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
IOP ebooks™ is a brand new book programme that brings together innovative digital publishing with leading voices from across physics to create the essential collection of physics books for a digital world. Created through collaboration with leading researchers in their field, IOP ebooks™ feature must-read content for the physics community.

Internet Resources

INFOMINE: Physical Sciences, Engineering, Computing & Math
Scholarly internet resource collections.
Material Safety Data Sheets
Find Material Safety Data Sheets and links to other safety resources.
National Academies
The National Academies advise the U.S.Congress on science, engineering, and medicine. From this page you can read current National Academies news and find links to the 3,000 publications that the National Academies make available to the public.
National Science Digital Library
A digital online library for the nation's resources on science, technology, mathematics and engineering.
Science Central
Directory to scientific resources on the Internet.
Science.gov
An interagency directory contributed by U.S. government science organizations.
SCIRUS
A search engine that searches only screened educational and scientific sites and journal articles in Elsevier Science journals. Links will take you to the site or to the article in Science Direct.
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Seach for patents or for trademarks. Images may be included for later files. Patents are also available via SciFinder Scholar, a software program available in the O'Toole Library for searching Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and US Patents.

Journals/Magazines

Nature Weekly Restricted Resource Some full text available
A weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology
Subject Liaison
Picture: Scott Kushner

Scott Kushner
Systems Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6456
skushner@saintpeters.edu

Locate Scholarly Journals & Periodicals
Discovery Search
Search Books, Articles and more Classic Library Catalog   E-Journals  
Finding Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed Articles

*USE THE SAME TIPS TO RESEARCH YOUR TOPIC