Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Alt Health Watch (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals, magazines, and other material on alternative health care and wellness.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Cumulated Index To Nursing And Allied Health Literature searches nursing, medical, and allied health journals, and conference proceedings. 
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences compiled by the National Library of Medicine.
Pharmaceutical News Index Restricted Resource
Gives researchers access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for 22 key U.S. and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters. 
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Health & Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on the latest medical information for researchers of all levels.
ProQuest Family Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers a range of subjects– from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,900 publications with over 1,500 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing.
ProQuest Health Management Restricted Resource Some full text available
Health administration - journal articles, dissertations. Full text included.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index, abstracts, and some full-text for psychology journals from 1806-present, and books, 1967-present. 
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Subject areas covered include: biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology,coaching & education, and sports medicine.

Internet Resources

HealthyNJ
Consumer health information from UMDNJ.
Medline Plus Some full text available
Provided by the National Library of Medicine; information on drugs, supplements & herbal remedies.
Medline Plus: Organ Donation
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
MedScape Some full text available Resource contains images
Medscape from WebMD features newslinks from Reuters Health and Medscape Medical News,leading articles from major medical journals, free CME programs, selections from Scientific American Medicine, and very useful Specialty Home Pages. Free registration is required. Also, a reference and education section.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report
The MMWR presents weekly disease and accident statistics from the Centers for Disease Control, along with helpful fact sheets and other data.
National Center for Health Statistics
Statistical data and reports, international travel and health information, from the Centers for Disease Control.
National Library of Medicine
Provides healthcare information on a wide variety of subjects. Searchable by database or subject.
NIMH: National Institute of Mental Health
"Working to improve mental health through biomedical research on mind, brain, and behavior."
organdonor.gov
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
UI Health Library
Written by UI Hospitals and Clinics staff, our comprehensive library features articles and patient guides covering common health topics ranging from special procedures to general wellness.

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Organizations

American College of Sports Medicine
the largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world. ACSM is dedicated to advancing and integrating scientific research to provide educational and practical applications of exercise science and sports medicine.
Peer-Reviewed Journals
Subject Liaison
Picture: DeCoster Daisy

DeCoster Daisy
Senior Assistant Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6456
ddecoster@saintpeters.edu

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files