Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
CSA Discovery Guides Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides the brief basics of a subject with recent insights and links to pertinent information using discovery tools.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information from literary journals, reference works and books which provide biographical and critical analysis of thousands of literary figures and their writings.

E-books

Bibliographies

Chambers Biographical Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
International and historical coverage of all areas of human achievement including the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business.

Dictionaries

Andromeda Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Facts about historical events, periods, and personalities available under alphabetically arranged headword entries. Coverage extends across every continent and every century of history. The entries have been prepared by professional historians, and Jeremy Black, Professor of History at the University of Exeter, has acted as academic consultant.
Chambers Dictionary of World History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes panels on important themes of ancient and modern history and newly revised and updated historical and thematic maps. In-depth focus on the period from 1000AD to the present day. 
Collins Dictionary of Business Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers all the main areas of business theory and practice: marketing, production, finance, personnel, business policy and international business.  (2005)
Dictionary of Accounting Restricted Resource Some full text available
A & C Black Publishers (2007)
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management.
Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
The OED online contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition and the latest progress towards the next, Third, edition.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms Restricted Resource Some full text available
Art terminology.  Coverage includes painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of World History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Houghton Mifflin, 2001
Referencia Latina Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers content from a variety of sources including 49,000 encyclopedia entries.
E-REFERENCE
Search multiple subscribed encyclopedias, dictionairies, handbooks, and other electronic reference sources.
  • QUICK E-REFERENCE SEARCH