Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
What is RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based program you can use to organize your research. 

RefWorks is free to members of the SPU community.

Users must create their RefWorks account using their official University e-mail.

What you can do with citations in RefWorks:
  • Import citations directly from research databases
  • Drag and drop files you already have saved  
  • Organize your citations in folders
  • Create citations from scratch
  • Quickly compile bibliographies/ reference lists
  • Share your citations with other RefWorks users
  • Generate in-text citations and footnotes easily with a Microsoft Word or Google Docs add-on
Importing from Databases
You can download and save the references you find in most research databases* (EBSCO, ProQuest, JSTOR, etc.) directly to your RefWorks account.

Select multiple articles OR open an individual article and look for an EXPORT link.  Follow prompts to export to RefWorks.  You will be required to log-in to your RefWorks account.

Hint: View Last Imported Folder to check citations for accuracy.

Google Scholar also supports Direct Export to RefWorks. Look for the option under Scholar Preferences.
 
Importing from SPU Library Catalog
You can export citations directly to RefWorks from within the SPC Library Catalog.  Simply click "Export to RefWorks" from the search view or record view.
Importing from the Web: RefGrab-It
RefGrab-it is a web browser utility that enables you to import available web page information into RefWorks.

You must first download RefGrab-It from the Tools pull-down menu in RefWorks.  Follow the installation instructions to place RefGrab-It in your Internet Explorer favorites or FireFox bookmarks toolbar.

To Use RefGrab-It:
1.     When you are on a web page you want to grab information from, just click on the RefGrab-It in your bookmark list (or in IE you can select Favorites or Links)
2.     A RefWorks temporary results page will open and the data will be displayed. This page shows you:
- Link back to the web page where the information came from
- Basic information gathered from that web page
- Supplemental information that RefGrab-it has found related to the page
3.     To add the web page information to your Refworks account, click on the import button.
4.     If you are not logged in to your account, you will be prompted to log-in. Otherwise, your records will appear in the Last Imported folder.

 
Using Write-N-Cite

You can incorporate in-text citations and footnotes directly from your RefWorks database into your MS Word document by using Write-N-Cite.

You must first download the Write-N-Cite utility from the Tools pull-down menu in RefWorks.  You may need SPU's GroupCode to download Write-N-Cite.  (The GroupCode was also sent to you in an e-mail when you signed up for your RefWorks account.)

Creating In-Text Citations with Write-N-Cite
  1. Open a new blank document in Microsoft Word.
  2. Launch Write-N-Cite.
  3. Position the cursor in your Microsoft Word document where the reference should be inserted; click Cite next to the appropriate reference in the RefWorks window.
  4. Save your Microsoft Word document when finished.
Creating a Bibliography with Write-N-Cite
  1. Launch Write-N-Cite.
  2. Click on Bibliography.
  3. Select the appropriate output style.
  4. Click on Create Bibliography.
  5. A new window will open with the re-formatted Microsoft Word document containing the bibliography.
  6. Save your Microsoft Word document.
"Legacy" RefWorks Users
Did you have an active RefWorks account prior to 2017?

Would you like to upgrade to the new version of RefWorks and migrate your existing references?

You will need to use the legacy RefWorks Link to access your old account.  

Click the link in the upper left to migrate your account and use all of the features in the new RefWorks.
Learn to use RefWorks