Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

New Jersey Resources

Battleship New Jersey is a Floating STEM Field Trip
Engage your students in an interactive environment where they can see your curriculum with their eyes instead of paper or a computer screen.
Center for Excellence in STEM Education
The Center for Excellence in STEM Education at The College of New Jersey brings together a multidisciplinary team of educators, researchers, and practitioners. Several professors from the schools of Science, Education and Engineering, building upon years of separately developed, but similar approaches, use inquiry and design as the major pedagogical approach for students from pre-kindergarten through grade 16 and beyond. The Center promotes inquiry and design-based learning to engage learners in the understanding and application of mathematical, scientific, and technology/engineering concepts and principles. It functions as a school service center, a demonstration and professional development center for teachers, a product development center, and a community resource.
Full STEAM Ahead!: New Jersey’s Afterschool STEM/STEAM Initiative
Eighty percent of jobs created in the next decade will require math and science skills (National Science Foundation). NJSACC's new Full STEAM Ahead! Afterschool Initiative will help New Jersey afterschool providers become STEAM leaders, preparing students for these jobs.
New Jersey Center for Teaching and Learning
CTL empowers teachers of every academic and cultural background to effectively teach K -12 mathematics and science to all students with the Progressive Science Initiative® (PSI®) and the Progressive Mathematics Initiative® (PMI®).
New Jersey STEM Database
Sponsored by the Research & Development Council of New Jersey.
The Research & Development Council of New Jersey
The Research & Development Council of New Jersey is a nonprofit organization that was founded in 1962. The organization is dedicated to cultivating an environment that supports the advancement of research and development in New Jersey.

Saint Peter's University Academic Departments, Programs & Concentrations

Databases

AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. 
Alt Health Watch (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals, magazines, and other material on alternative health care and wellness.
ArXiv.org E-print Archive

Open access to 1,067,039 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics


CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Cumulated Index To Nursing And Allied Health Literature searches nursing, medical, and allied health journals, and conference proceedings. 
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Exam Master Restricted Resource
Exam Master’s board review for the NCLEX-RN nursing examination prepares you for the actual NCLEX-RN test by offering you realistic practice exams and quality review questions covering the four client needs areas (safe and effective care environment, health promotion and maintenance, psycho-social and physiological integrity).
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information on librarianship and related fields.
MathSciNet
Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information on literature in the mathematical sciences. 
Nursing & Allied Health Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
Pharmaceutical News Index Restricted Resource
Gives researchers access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for 22 key U.S. and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters. 
PLOS ONe
PLOS ONE (eISSN-1932-6203) is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.  Helpful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, ethics, and writing position papers.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. Includes the full-text of several hundred books, which can be read for free online. The tables of contents and abstracts of the Proceedings of the NAS are also available on the website along with the NAS News Report.
Note: Full-text of current articles is available for a fee; back issues are available for free 6 months after publication.
ProQuest Biology Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes over 415 titles, with more than 360 available in full text, to some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database covering Business and Economics, Health and Medical, News and World Affairs, Science, Education, Technology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Psychology, Literature, Law, and Women's Studies.  Search all Proquest databases simultaneously.
ProQuest Computing Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive coverage of computer topics, with records dating back to the early 1990's.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Health & Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on the latest medical information for researchers of all levels.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels.
ProQuest Psychology Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 710 titles, with over 570 titles available in full text. Also includes 4,000 full text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines. Dissertation content is available for the years spanning 2000 through 2006.
ProQuest Science Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature in all major fields of study, including Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry and more.
ProQuest Telecommunications Restricted Resource Some full text available
Whether you’re looking for the latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or gathering information about the industry or its technology.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
All articles indexed in PsycARTICLES are also indexed and linked in PsycINFO.
Includes full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals linked to every record. Includes all articles from the journal issues indexed, as well as errata and letters to the editor. Indexes selected U.S., Canadian, and European psychology journals.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index, abstracts, and some full-text for psychology journals from 1806-present, and books, 1967-present. 
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Science Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Core coverage of most areas of science and some applied science areas. Includes journals, books, technical reports, and government reports.  1984-present
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Indexes journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
note: Please speak to the Librarian on duty at the Reference Desk or e-mail reference@saintpeters.edu to obtain full-text for specific articles. ScienceDirect to cease support of Internet Explorer 8 on January 1, 2016

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

American Scientist
The Science of Scientific Writing
Clinical Chemistry Guide to Scientific Writing
American Association for Clinical Chemistry
Harvard College Writing Center
A Brief Guide to Writing the Psychology Paper
Purdue Online Writing Lab: Complete Discipline Listing
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL).
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.
Scientific Style and Format
The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Scientific Writing Booklet
M. E. Tischler, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics, University of Arizona
Writing in the STEM Disciplines
The WAC Clearinghouse is an open-access, educational Web site supported by Colorado State University. In addition to publications in journals and books, the WAC Clearinghouse provides access to two resources focused on writing in science, technologogy, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).
The STEM Bibliography
The Writing-to-Learn in STEM Bibliographic Database

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

DocsTeach
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history. Register to create an account. Developed by the National Archives.
EurekAlert
Latest news and glossaries in science, medicine & technology fields, from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
National STEM Resources & Research
The Research & Development Council of New Jersey.
Science Central
Directory to scientific resources on the Internet.
STEM Learning Ecosystems
STEM Learning Ecosystems provide the architecture for cross-sector learning, offering all young people access to STEM-rich learning environments so they can develop important skills and engagement in science, technology, engineering and math throughout preK-16.
Top Ten TED Talks for STEM Educators
Center for Excellence in Education.

Relevant Subject Guides

Biology Subject Guide
Developed by Ann Marie Ziadie, Senior Assistant Librarian.
Chemistry Subject Guide
Developed by Ann Marie Ziadie, Senior Assistant Librarian.
Computer Science Subject Guide
Developed by Scott Kushner, Systems Librarian.
Data Science Subject Guide
Developed by Scott Kushner, Systems Librarian.
Environmental Studies Subject Guide
Developed by Mark Graceffo, Librarian.
Mathematics Subject Guide
Developed by Scott Kushner, Systems Librarian.
Nursing Subject Guide
Developed by Daisy DeCoster, Senior Assistant Librarian.
Physics Subject Guide
Developed by Scott Kushner, Systems Librarian.
Psychology Subject Guide
Developed by Ann Marie Ziadie, Senior Assistant Librarian.

Government Information

Federal STEM Resources by Category
The Research & Development Council of New Jersey.
Science.gov
An interagency directory contributed by U.S. government science organizations.

Organizations

Change the Equation
Change the Equation works at the intersection of business and education to ensure that all students are STEM literate by collaborating with schools, communities, and states to adopt and implement excellent STEM policies and programs
SAE International
SAE believes that the quality of instruction, as well as the quantity of students pursuing careers in the Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) fields, must dramatically increase if the United States is to remain the technological leader in the world. The quantity of STEM-based students must reflect the diverse population of the country. SAE actively participates in the Steering Committee of the Congressional STEM Caucus, which consists of 100+ Congressmen that advocate support for STEM education.
STEM Education Coalition
The STEM Education Coalition works aggressively to raise awareness in Congress, the Administration, and other organizations about the critical role that STEM education plays in enabling the U.S. to remain the economic and technological leader of the global marketplace of the 21st century.
Marie Curie
           
1903 - Corecipient of the Noble Prize in Physics
1911 - Awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu

ScienceDaily - RSS Feed

Loading ...