Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on social science information for researchers of all levels.
ProQuest Social Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, anthropology, political science and international relations.
ProQuest Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.

E-books

Internet Resources

Social Explorer
This site enables the user to analyze demographic and social trends and data using census data from 1790-2010.  The site is maintained by the City University of New York.
American Fact Finder
"American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys. For more information see Using FactFinder and What We Provide."
American Sociological Association
 As the national organization for sociologists, the American Sociological Association works at the national and international levels,aiming to articulate policy and implement programs likely to have the broadest possible impact for sociology the field of sociology. Their web site offers organizational news, trends in the field, research findings, and more.
FedStats
FedStats provides extensive and current information about data and statistics gathered by the United States government on many topics such as education, crime, poverty and housing.
Gallup
Gallup  studied human nature and behavior for more than 75 years.  The "Gallup Poll'  has a s reputation for delivering relevant and timely research on a variety of issues in many the fields of: politics, religion,management, economics, psychology, and sociology.
ICPSR Web Site
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Social science data archives: social surveys, health surveys, historical data. 
INFOMINE: Social Sciences & Humanities
Gateway to scholarly internet resources.
Southern Poverty Law Center
The Southern Poverty Law Center, through the use of litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy,  is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry, and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society.
Statistics Primer for Sociology
A concise and accurate explanation of various types of statistics such as correlational, descriptive and inferential that is provided by McGraw-Hill.
The SocioWeb
This gateway resource provides a pathway to scholarly resources, statistics, surveys, various topics in sociology as well as college programs in sociology and their contact information. 

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Subject Liaison
Picture: Mark Graceffo

Mark Graceffo
Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6464
mgraceffo@saintpeters.edu

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files