Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
Digital Theatre Plus Restricted Resource
Digital Theatre Plus features high-definition live video captures of British theatrical productions, along with production information, interviews with key creative players, and teaching materials. Digital Theatre works in partnership with leading theater companies, education organizations and arts collectives in the UK to make the best theater, English, and drama resources widely available.
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
JURN Some full text available
A curated academic search engine indexing 4,290 free ejournals in the arts and humanities. 
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

Citation Guides - Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style -- Web Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Highly recommended.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Web-based bibliography and database management program. Sign up to create a new account.  Click here for a user guide.

E-books

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

Billy Rose Theatre Collection: Digital Collections
A division of the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.
Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites
Created by librarians at the University of Maryland.
Costume Page
Zetterberg divides the site into topic areas: Reference, Museums, History, Ethnic, Theatrical, Organizations, Events, Schools, Instructions, Halloween, Other Lists, Materials, Accessories, Costumes (ready-made).
Didaskalia
Didaskalia is an electronic journal dedicated to the study of all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman performance.
DocsTeach
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history. Register to create an account. Developed by the National Archives.
IBDB
Internet Broadway Database
Intute - Theatre and Drama
Gateway to scholarly internet resources.
Jack Wolcott's Theatre History on the Web
This site has been maintained since 1996 by Jack Wolcott (retired, School of Drama, University of Washington). Theatre practitioners as well as scholars will find these listings to be of value.
Musicals101.com
The Cyber Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, TV and Film created by John Kenrick. 
Performing Arts in America, 1875-1923
A searchable database of some 16,000 items (books, manuscripts, clippings, sheet music, costume designs, posters, moving images, sound clips, and photographs) from the The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. 
SIBMAS International Directory of Performing Arts Collections and Institutions
International directory of performing arts collections and institutions.
Tony Awards
The official website of the American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards
Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
A multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings, this site includes 334 English and Yiddish language play scripts, more than 140 theater playbills and programs, several dozen motion pictures, ten sound recordings, and a substantial collection of photographs and ephemera on Harry Houdini.

Tutorials

Subject Liaison
Picture: Ilona MacNamara

Ilona MacNamara
Librarian, Reference & Exhibits Coordinator
Tel: 201-761- 6463
imacnamara@saintpeters.edu

Hamlet, Laurence Olivier & Vivien Leigh
  
Billy Rose Theatre Division, The New York Public Library. "Hamlet, Laurence Olivier and Vivian Leigh" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47de-ea5d-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99