Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to support religious and theological research. It includes book titles and a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. 1949-present. 
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
ProQuest Religion Restricted Resource Some full text available
A resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives. This resource presently has more than 220 journals, with most of them available with full-text.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

E-books

Buddhism -ebooks
Buddhism in our electronic book collection
Hinduism
Hinduism in our electronic book collection
Islam -ebooks
Fulltext books on Islam from our electronic book collection

Internet Resources

Beliefnet
Inspiration, spirituality, and faith
BuddhaNet
 Buddhist education and resource/information network.
Catholic Social Teaching
This web site of the   Office of Social Justice/Catholic Charities of St. Paul and Minneapolis, offers official documents   on  the Church's social teaching. One can find easy access to major themes of social teaching documents of the last century and notable quotations.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
Provides a summary of the insights gained by the principal social sciences of religion: anthropology, psychology, and sociology. Many entries of various lengths on all things related to religion and society.
Interfaith Family
 InterfaithFamily.com offers resources & services for interfaith couples and families exploring Jewish life.
Jewish Learning
 Web site devoted to teaching Judiasm  - includes information on Jewish culture, beliefs, practices, history, and sacred texts.
Judaism 101
 Judaism 101 is an online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs.
List of Popes
A list of popes from St. Peter (32-67) to Pope Francis (2013 -)
Need to Know? Islam Restricted Resource Some full text available
The aim of this book is to explain the principles of Islam and to show how Muslims strive to bring God-consciousness (taqwa) into every area of their daily lives.
Religion & Ethics Newsweekly
PBS award winning program. News coverage and analysis of religion, faith, and ethics. A review of national and international news pertaining to religion.
The Qur'an
 Online Qur'an Resources

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Encyclopedias

Religion & Religious Movements Restricted Resource Some full text available
 Entries on religious history and practice in the United States.  Conrtains and overview of  recently emerged religious organization, trends in contemporary religious movements, and the place of religion in American popular culture.

Images

Hindu Gallery Resource contains images
 A gallery of Hindu deities for personal use.

Organizations

Catholic Theological Society of America
Within the context of the Roman Catholic tradition, the CTSA  promotes, studies and conducts research in theology, to relate theological science to current problems, and to foster a more effective theological education. The Society works to  provide a forum for an exchange of views among theologians and with scholars in other disciplines.
GreenFaith
 An interfaith organization providing environmental leadership to people and congregations of diverse religous backgrounds. Working from their core values of Spirit, Stewardship, and Justice, Greenfaith has various educational programs to inspire and mobilize people to work for a better environment.
Nur Ashki Jerrahi Community
The Nur Ashki Jerrahi Community is an order of dervishes within the Halveti-Jerrahi Tariqat (Sufi Order), led by Shaykh Fariha al-Jerrahi. Their web site offers articles on different aspects of Sufism, and audio recordings of prayers, sohbet (conversation of the heart between friends), and a hymns."
Society of Jesus
 This official page of the Jesuits contains information on their 450 year history of serving the church, the provinces in which they work, the ministry they are engaged in (including their 28 U.S. colleges & universities), their work for social justice, vocations, and the spirituality of their founder, Saint Ignatius. Ignatius' SpiritualExercises can be found here.
Sufi Order International
 Considered to be the mystical path of Islam, Sufism was brought to the West from India by Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid Inayat Khan, who founded the “Sufi Order in the West” in 1910. This web site offers a history of Sufism, prayers, and teachings.
The Vatican
 The Vatican's web site contains much of what you might be looking for on the Holy See and the Vatican city state. Search here for encyclicals, letters, the Roman Curia, World Youth Day, and statements on a variety of issues, including the Church's response to the abuse of minors.
Subject Liaison
Picture: Mark Graceffo

Mark Graceffo
Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6464
mgraceffo@saintpeters.edu

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files