Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

ABI/Inform Dateline(ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
An information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) contains articles and abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.1966-present. 
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and television & radio news broadcasts. Also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.
Socindex with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals covering sociology and social work, as well as coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, and gender studies.  Also indexes books and conference papers.

Internet Resources

INFOMINE: Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Resources
Scholarly internet resource collections.
NPP Federal Priorities Database
"The NPP Database offers state data on socio-economic needs and federal expenditures, and allows you to create customized tables, graphs and reports." Create a graph showing the amount of your state's federal tax dollars that go for the war on Iraq compared to dollars returned in social expenditures.
Pew Internet and American Life Project
Research reports and news stories on the effect of the Internet in America.
The Urban Institute
Publishes papers and studies on social policy and urban life.

Museums

Lower East Side Tenement Museum
An online tour of the museum, along with a 97 page Lower East Side Tenement Museum Encyclopedia.

Journals/Magazines

City Limits Magazine Some full text available
New York's urban affairs magazine.

Statistics/Data

Infoshare Online
Demographic, socio-economic, and health data about New York City obtained from city, state, and federal government agencies.  Sign up for a free account.
POPIN: United Nations Population Network
"Includes statistical tables, software, official documentation of the International Conference on Population and Development and the United Nations Commission on Population and Development..." along with data on world population trends, health data and statistics, and other UN publications.
Population Reference Bureau
Current human population data and excerpts from publications.
Population Studies Center Data Archive
Searchable data sets from the University of Michigan.
U.S. Census Bureau: Economy-Wide Statistics
Data on the U.S. business economy.  Includeds County Business Patterns, Statistics of U.S. Businesses, and information from the Economic Census.
U.S. Census Bureau: International Data Base (IDB)
The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.  The IDB provides many types of demographic data, including estimates and projections of:
  • Birth, death, and growth rates, migration rates, infant mortality, and life expectancy
  • Fertility rates
  • Total population and population by age and sex

Atlases

Digital Atlas of New York City Resource contains images
Dr. William A. Bowen of the Department of Geography at California State University, Northridge, has created a demographic atlas of NYC that shows population and race, ancestry, income and poverty, adult educational attainment, household types, and commuters.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures Some full text available
HT 108.5 .E53
Location: ReadyRef, 1st Floor
 

Organizations

Center for Urban Policy Research
at Rutgers University
Institute on Race and Povery
at the University of Minnesota.
Joint Center for Housing Studies
The Center is affiliated with Harvard University's Graduate School of Design and the Kennedy School of Government. This site provides housing data and research studies.
Southern Poverty Law Center
The Southern Poverty Law Center, through the use of litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy,  is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry, and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society.
Subject Liaison
Picture: Mark Graceffo

Mark Graceffo
Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6464
mgraceffo@saintpeters.edu

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files