Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. 
ArXiv.org E-print Archive

Open access to 1,067,039 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics


Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text articles from scholarly and general business periodicals. Also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. 
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database covering Business and Economics, Health and Medical, News and World Affairs, Science, Education, Technology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Psychology, Literature, Law, and Women's Studies.  Search all Proquest databases simultaneously.
ProQuest Computing Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive coverage of computer topics, with records dating back to the early 1990's.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource covers dissertations on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

Internet Resources

OpenRefine
 "OpenRefine (formerly Google Refine) is a powerful tool for working with messy data: cleaning it; transforming it from one format into another; extending it with web services; and linking it to databases like Freebase." View large datasets and automatically create filters and facets, transform the structure of the data, and clean up inconsistencies by clustering and matching entries to preferred forms.
R
R is an open-source programming language and software environment for large scale text/data analysis and data mining. It includes various useful functions such as data extraction, genre detection, and topic modeling. It aims for more for advanced users. With knowledge in other pogromming languages such as C and C++, you can create your own functions. The precompiled packages are available for UNIX, Linux, Windows and MacOS.
Voyant
Voyant is a simple and easy web-based text analysis tool. You can paste URLs or upload the text in HTML, XML, PDF, RTF, and MS Word) or paste URLs to analyze word frequencies in the corpus. The picture below is an example of word frequency analysis and a word cloud for the library's homepage using Voyant. 

​For more information check the official documentation
Discovery Search
Search Books, Articles and more Classic Library Catalog   E-Journals  
Introduction to Library Services
Subject Liaison
Picture: Scott Kushner

Scott Kushner
Systems Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6456
skushner@saintpeters.edu