Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
ARTstor Digital Library Restricted Resource Resource contains images
The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Choice Reviews Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online reference library which contains dictionaries,  quotations,  and encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
EBSCOHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
A portal which allows you to search multiple EBSCO databases simultaneously.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work. 
History Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The World's Most Comprehensive Full-Text History Reference Database.Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
JURN Some full text available
A curated academic search engine indexing 4,290 free ejournals in the arts and humanities. 
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and television & radio news broadcasts. Also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
MasterFILE Elite (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
MasterFILE Elite, designed specifically for public libraries, provides full text for more than 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,600 titles. This database features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, 320 reference and travel books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts 2001; full text from 91,600 biographies, 75,000 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. MasterFILE Elite offers PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review and Natural History.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides selected full text articles from 146 U.S. and international newspapers. 
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.  Helpful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, ethics, and writing position papers.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Career and Technical Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database is the definitive source for vocational information for students and faculty. Includes over 750 titles.
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database covering Business and Economics, Health and Medical, News and World Affairs, Science, Education, Technology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Psychology, Literature, Law, and Women's Studies.  Search all Proquest databases simultaneously.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides a wide range of popular academic subjects.  It features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Catalogs

SPU Library Catalog
Search the catalog to find books or other media to borrow or use at the O'Toole or Englewood Cliffs Libraries.
Worldcat - OCLC Online Union Catalog
Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. 

E-books

Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.

Internet Resources

LibriVox Resource contains audio
Source of human audio eBook readings. MP3 and other audio formats are used, so that these may be listened to on computers, mobile devices, and CD/DVD players.
Online Library Catalogs in the New York City Area
Maintained by Stacy Pober, Manhattan College Library.
Voice of the Shuttle (VoS)
A Web page devoted to the study of humanities, offering many links to humanities topics: archaeology, anthropology, architecture, art, general humanities, history, linguistics, literature, minority studies, philosophy, religous studies, women's studies, and more. Emphasizes both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources.

Journals/Magazines

New York Times, 1980 - present (Lexis-Nexis) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text coverage from 1980 to the present, along with the Times Index from 1969.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Job and Career Accelerator
Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings. 

Encyclopedias

Discovery Search
Search Books, Articles and more Classic Library Catalog   E-Journals  
Introduction to Library Services