Saint Peter's University Home » Library » Subject Guide » Databases AtoZ
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues. 
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR’s premier collection. Includes: The Arts & Sciences I II III IV IX V VI VII Collections and Life Sciences Collection.
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and television & radio news broadcasts. Also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
ProQuest Social Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, anthropology, political science and international relations.
SAGE Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies.

E-books

Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches Restricted Resource Some full text available
Including a never-before published speech by Martin Luther King, Jr., this is the first compilation of its kind, bringing together the most influential and important voices from two hundred years of America's struggle for civil rights, including essential speeches from leaders, both famous and obscure.

Internet Resources

American Presidents: An Online Reference Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
From The Miller Center, a nonpartisan institute that seeks to expand understanding of the presidency, policy, and political history, providing critical insights for the nation's governance challenges.
ICPSR Web Site
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Social science data archives: social surveys, health surveys, historical data. 
Library of Congress: Country Studies
Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
National Security Archive
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
New York Times Politics Navigator
A selective guide to political sites on the Internet.
Oyez Project: Supreme Court Media
This site aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Supreme Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.  Search and access MP3 recordings and audio transcripts.
Project Vote Smart
Information on elected officials and political candidates, including: voting records, issue positions, interest group ratings, public statements, and campaign finance information.
Roman Law Resources
Information on Roman law sources and literature, the teaching of Roman law, and the persons who study Roman law.
U.S. Courts
Links to news and statistical data on the Supreme Court, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, U.S. District Courts, and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts.

Statistics/Data

U.S. Census Bureau: International Data Base (IDB)
The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.  The IDB provides many types of demographic data, including estimates and projections of:
  • Birth, death, and growth rates, migration rates, infant mortality, and life expectancy
  • Fertility rates
  • Total population and population by age and sex

World Gazetteer
Provides easy to use census and population statistics from all over the world. 

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Almanac of American Politics
Print Location: JK 1012 .A44 2010
Ready REF, 1st Floor

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Government Information

GPO Access
The U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) disseminates official information from all three branches of the Federal Government. Search full texts of Congressional Bills, Congressional Record, Federal Register, GAO Reports, House Rules, current U.S. Government Manual. 
House of Commons Library: Briefing Papers
Like the Library of Congress, the Library of the British House of Commons provides impartial research reports to members of the House. From this page you can find research briefings by date, type, or one of 350 topics.
THOMAS: Legislative Information from the Library of Congress
Find information on: Bills, Resolutions, Activity in Congress, Congressional Record, Schedules & Calendars, Committee Information, Presidential Nominations, and Treaties.
U.S. Department of State: Human Rights Reports
In depth reports from over 190 countries on current conditions on human rights, law and justice. 
USA.gov
The easiest way to find government information and online publications and data. Search by keyword, explore topics, or locate federal agencies.

Handbooks & Guides

Political Handbook of the World
Print location: JF 37 .P61 2010
First Floor, Ready REF
United States Government Manual
Print Location: JK 421 .A3 2009/10
First Floor, Ready REF

Organizations

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
The ACLU works in the courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed by the Constitution and laws of the United States.
Amnesty International
Amnesty International publishes a detailed annual report and special reports covering abuses in war-torn or occupied regions, and within nations. 
ILO: The International Labour Organization
Information on international labor standards, databases of labor statistics, and resource guides on various labor issues.
United Nations
The United Nations was established on 24 October 1945 by 51 countries committed to preserving peace through international cooperation and collective security. 
Subject Liaison
Picture: DeCoster Daisy

DeCoster Daisy
Senior Assistant Librarian
Tel: 201-761- 6456
ddecoster@saintpeters.edu